Review Detail

Archaeology and Faith
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
A reading experience that combines the Bible with actual archaeological finds and information—bringing scripture to life in a more vivid and academic (yet accessible) way than children typically encounter. The book is divided into two distinct sections. The first 85 pages convey select portions of the Old Testament, and the last 35 pages encompass the New Testament.

The actual content is engagingly laid out. The text-based segments include condensed retellings, singular emphasized bible verses, cultural/contextual explanations, and quick “Did You Know?” facts set in larger stand-alone font. Visual aids range from maps to illustrations to pictures of actual archaeological sites, artifacts, reliefs, and frescos. Though there are plenty of visuals and free space, some of the segments are very text dense with font small enough I would say this trends more toward a Middle Grade audience than simply “kids.”

The illustrations crop up on roughly every other 2-page spread and are made up of gorgeous paintings from the 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Their styles, while variable, all carry a cohesive feel that ties the aesthetics together. The downside to this… the paintings are all European in origin, and so the many Biblical characters depicted are almost painfully Caucasian in appearance.

Personally, I wasn’t a huge fan of some of the paraphrased retellings. They tend to leave much out in a bid for simplicity—which, I realize, one must compromise on when adapting material like this for child consumption. Still, it runs the risk of perpetuating contextual misunderstandings that have been long-running issues for both the churched and unchurched. I recommend parents read the retellings with their children so that they can answer questions and potentially modify elements that don’t as successfully convey the point. (I had to do this with the Adam & Eve telling in particular, as the wording didn’t make it clear that Adam was present to watch Eve eat the fruit first and she did not ‘trick him’, as my children were gathering.)

Note: At one point the book states that Abraham sacrificed a lamb in Isacc's place. (All texts I can find state it was a ram, not a lamb.) A minor discrepancy of animal sex and developmental age, perhaps, but still a touch concerning.

I also found it curious how frequently the Old Testament section includes possible scientific explanations for numerous miracles, plagues, acts-of-God, etc. This was especially prominent in the portions dedicated to the plagues of Egypt, and the Israelite nation’s crossing of the Red Sea. While these are interesting considerations, it had something of a vaguely dismissive effect. It also seems relevant to note that the New Testament is not given this same treatment (i.e. there is no attempt to explain or downplay the miracles of Christ.)
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
"TWO DOGS ON A TRIKE is an adorable counting book for toddlers and preschoolers. Each page features dogs in different..."
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
"BONAPARTE PLAYS BALL matches up the Monsters and Aliens at the Weird Series baseball game. Bonaparte and his team practice..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."