Review Detail

Resist
(Updated: July 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
4.0
This is a collection of brief biographies of people who stood up and resisted injustices and tyranny. There's a little bit of information on each of these individuals. Kind of like teasers that might lead readers to want to look up more on them.

What worked: I really liked this younger aged biography that has little background stories on 35 activists. I also loved how each chapter ends with a hashtag #resist lesson and one lesson to take from each person.

Some of my favorites:

Samuel Adams and how even though he might have been considered a 'failure' on some of his ventures, each failure meant he tried. And those skills he learned came in handy later in his life in unexpected way.

**One thing though that is incorrect, is Paul Reeve didn't say, "The British are coming!" It was 'the Regulars'.

Dolores Huerta and Cesar Chavez and the quote: "Cherish your heritage. The harvest is great." As the great-great-granddaughter of Mexican migrants, Chavez and Huerta have been heroes in my eyes. This bio gives just a little tidbit and backstory of these amazing leaders and their fight for migrant workers rights.

Archbishop Oscar Romero's courage to stand up to human rights violations in El Salvador in the 80s. The #resist lesson there is, "Our silence does not protect us."

Malala Yousafzai standing up to the Taliban even when she knew how dangerous this would be.

There's others that stood up to injustices of Jim Crow laws, being denied the right to vote, #blacklivesmatter, and even mention of the million women's march. One big message throughout this bio is don't take your rights for granted. Always be ready to march again.

I wished that the biographies were a little more detailed. For example have more examples of what these individuals did and a have time lines. Otherwise, this is fast-paced, informative reading without being boring.

Compelling profile of 35 ordinary people who stood up and let their voices be heard against injustices. This bio is very applicable now with current administration. Also hopefully it will get readers to research more on these activist's lives. A must add to any school library.

Good Points
1. Great little tidbits on activism throughout time
2. Very applicable for now
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
 
4.0
"The most amazing thing about classic horror stories is how they still influence many writers today. To read 'the..."
A Conspiracy of Stars
 
4.3
"Feedback First thing first - what a world! This is a brand new planet that Cole had created and..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"I have loved all the books in the gone series and this one is no exception. Kept me entertained until..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
 
5.0
"APEX is the epic, action-packed finale to the Hunter Series. Joy is now a member of the Elite Hunter Command..."
Our Dark Duet
 
5.0
"Oh my. I don't even know what to say about this book and how much I loved it. I wanted..."
The Monstrous Child
 
3.3
"THIS MONSTROUS CHILD is about how Hel, a young teenage girl came to rule the underworld and how she and..."
Dark Army, The (The Starblade Chronicles #2)
 
4.7
"**Spoiler Alert** Because of the nature of A New Darkness, which includes a plot twist that has made me and..."