Review Detail

It's Science!
(Updated: May 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer.

The book begins with the concept of atoms, and quite literally builds from there. Once the foundation is established, it moves on to cover things like gravity, motion, energy, and the forces. The information progression is logical, accessibly explained, delivered in single paragraphs, and interspersed with enough graphic material to keep it from feeling overwhelming.

This book is well organized and appealingly laid out. The wide range of content mediums include: jokes, mini-comic strips, charts and diagrams, vibrant photographs, 2-page ‘Fact Attack’ spreads, and ‘Try It’ suggestions on LEGO-related activities that may bolster comprehension. Not surprisingly, it also offers clear instructions to young readers on how to build their own visual aids. (And the scientist mini-figure included with this product proved an excitement-inducing bonus to my 8 and 9-year-old.)

My only qualm would be that the book is sometimes a little too definite about the answers they give. (Example: When the question is posed of “What happens if you get sucked into a black hole?” is asked, a very certain answer is given—rather than any prefacing with the reality that scientists don’t actually agree on this yet.) Parents may want to encourage critical thinking by reading along with their children and pointing out instances of oversimplification.

Overall, a fantastic resource for introducing science in an endearing and palatable way.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Fun and Games: Everyday Play
 
4.0
"FUN AND GAMES is a cute rhyming picture book about play. The book talks about basic toys such as dollhouses,..."
You Go First
 
4.0
"Charlotte lives near Philadelphia, and Ben lives in Louisiana. They've never met, although they have played online Scrabble together on..."