Review Detail

The story of an exceptional man.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Jackie Robinson was an exceptional man, and in 42 Is Not Just a Number, Doreen Rappaport shows readers why he should certainly be celebrated for not only his baseball prowess, but also for his strength of character. Although the book is brief, it succeeds in that mission.

Rappaport brings Jackie Robinson to life by focusing on his childhood, his family, and the struggles he faced growing up in the 1920s and 30s as a strong willed child of color in the days of segregation. Jackie faced injustices everywhere he went, and he fought them in every way he could. Rappaport does a fine job of showing how Jackie Robinson challenged the status quo whenever he faced adversity in the educational system, in the military, and in everyday life. And her portrayal of Jackie-the-fighter offers an excellent backdrop for the time when Jackie was forced to fight, not with words or fists, but with silence and restraint when he became the first black man to play baseball in the major leagues.

42 Is Not Just a Number highlights some fascinating facts about Robinson and his family, and its short chapters help keep the story moving. Although the book is a brief 128 pages, there is a lot of history crammed into it. That said, it would have benefited from some fleshing out of these real-life characters. The second to last chapter highlights the 1947 “Subway Series” between the New York Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers, and although Jackie Robinson played for almost ten more years after that, the book ends somewhat abruptly with a final brief chapter that details the final accolades for the man. I know that I was left wanting more, and I suspect young readers who are pulled into Jackie’s story by the narrative up until that final chapter will be disappointed in the lackluster conclusion. I’d also love to see some photos (the cover is great, and the only photo offered)… I’m a firm believer that every non-fiction book targeting youth should be filled with photographs to help illustrate the “realness” of the people and/or events portrayed.

Overall, I recommend 42 Is Not Just a Number for baseball fans and as a supplementary book for middle grades units on civil rights.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Background on an American hero suitable for middle grade readers
Great supplementary material for lesson plans on civil rights
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
The Time of the Fireflies
 
5.0
"In The Time of the Fireflies, twelve-year-old Larissa Renaud immediately reveals her chaotic family life and her inner turmoil as..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"I had the privilege of reading and reviewing The Secret Tree a couple of years ago, and so I was..."
Meeting Cezanne
 
4.0
"Yannick is a lonely boy visiting the Provence region of France, where he wanders the fields and forests, wonders about..."
The Door
 
5.0
"Reminiscent of Clive Barker's ABARAT series, THE DOOR is a magical adventure filled with twisty turns and strange wonders. ..."
Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton
 
4.0
"This book starts out slow and sleepy, like a warm summer day. Readers who enjoy flashy, humorous graphic novels or..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"When Felina, a young witch, crash lands near Lucinda's house on Halloween, Lucinda's family, the Doons, take her in. Since..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"What a cute little story this one is! Short and sweet, The Little Leftover Witch is a story that features..."
Beholding Bee
 
5.0
"Pick up this book. Behold, in your hands, you hold a magical story that will write itself on your heart...."
The Passover Lamb
 
4.5
"A young Jewish girl, who is excited and prepared for Passover and her first recital of the 'four questions' during..."
Homesick
 
3.0
"Benny's mother has finally had it with the junk that his father brings home, especially since he has lost the..."
Summer at Forsaken Lake
 
5.0
"Nicholas and his twin sisters Hayley and Hetty are sent to a small Ohio lake front town to stay with..."
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
 
4.0
"A brilliant read. The narrative voice is so authentic I had to wonder if this was in some part a..."