Review Detail

Kids Nonfiction 1076
Inspiration for Young Readers!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
This is one of the many “100 things” books I’ve read by National Geographic, and like with all the rest, I absolutely loved this one. All of these books can be about completely different topics, and yet they all hold one thing in common: they help to inspire our newest generation.

The title basically tells you what the focus of this book is about, but of course, National Geographic delivers much more. This book is filled with 100 different types of jobs held across the globe. It has everything from chefs, teachers, and astronauts, to professional pet food tasters, smoke-jumpers, and several other jobs you may have never heard of.

Each job usually was explained on two pages, alongside some incredible photos, and sometimes with an interesting fact or two. It was very clear, easy to follow, and provided you with a basic, but intriguing description of the job. I can’t think of a better book to encourage and motivate younger kids to look further into their future and their opportunities. Everyone knows about the struggles and stress that comes with thinking about one’s future career, but I believe this book makes the process seem more exciting and hopeful.

While it includes the jobs that are most common or well-known, it also includes some very interesting, creative, and fun jobs. Who knew that there were tens of thousands of jobs available across the country for the National Park Service? Or that there were veterinary acupuncturists out there? The options are limitless, and reading this reminded me of that. I think that younger readers will realize this as well and realize that they can truly be anything.

Final thoughts?

100 Things to Be When You Grow Up, is yet another great book that provides its young readers with the inspiration they need to think of all the possibilities their future holds. There are a hundred jobs in this book, and there will certainly be at least one that any reader would want to know more about. The interesting facts, gorgeous photographs, and the wide range of jobs made this book unforgettable. Highly recommend for all readers!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Blackthorn Winter: A Murder Mystery
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Tori This novel is fine, but there are a few errors here. For instance, it seems the..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips I like Reiss's books but this one almost made me throw it against the wall...."
Blackthorn Winter: A Murder Mystery
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Cleminetine Horn Kathryn has done a wonderful job with this thrilling, new book!This has..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Princess Angel Rose I loved this book. The girl who sits next to me in class..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by brenna this book was really good and i hate to read but i thought that this book..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Megan I liked this book because I love adventures. Usually I can just put down a book..."