Review Detail

Interesting and Enlightening
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
How many of us think exclusively of Thomas Edison (and perhaps, Benjamin Franklin with his kite and key) when we think of the inventors of one of our most valuable modern technologies, electricity? I know I hadn't looked into the history of this incredible invention beyond that after high school. The truth is, Nikola Tesla was just as much of a pioneer in his own right, and changed the face of electricity for Edison himself and the scientists and people of his day.

Simply but intelligently written, with excellent paintings that bring the story alive, Electrical Wizard tells the story of Nikola Tesla from the spark of desire within him as a young boy to figure out electricity to the many difficulties he faced wrapping his own mind around AC/DC technology as well as those he encountered trying to convince the scientific community, and even Edison himself, that his theories would work. Reading his story is wonderful precisely because we are living in a world overwrought with the influence of his work. I find this exhilarating, especially when reading to my children. How exciting it is to delve into the mind of an inventor! And this book will open up history and science to your children (and you) if you pick it up. A great read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
 
4.5
"Perry Wallace grew up in Nashville, Tennessee at a time when many things were changing in the south. He had..."