Review Detail

Draw Your Own Adventure
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Illustrator Christine Roussey's scribbly, accessible style welcomes even the smallest child to doodle within these pages.

My Beastly Book of Tangled Tinsel has the potential to keep a child busy for hours while they engage in a myriad of naughty and nice activities. The nicer options invite kids to draw Santa's father, color the outfits for a reindeer fashion show, draw a motorcycle for Santa, and draw their own face on an elf's body. The naughty and giggle-worthy suggestions include drawing the lovechild of a reindeer and snowman (antlers and a carrot nose, perhaps?), or besieging an off-pitch children's choir with rotten tomatoes and pears.

Like all the other "My Beastly Books," kids are sure to get a kick out of expressing themselves in such a free-style, color-outside-the-lines format. Within these pages, kids aren't expected to create serious art. Here, the expectations are lifted. They are free to be themselves.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Foxheart
 
5.0
"A fantastically clever and magical adventure, complete with incredible feats of bravery, heart-warming characters, and strange beasts. FOXHEART tells the..."
Guys Read: Terrifying Tales
 
5.0
"There is something so wonderfully satisfying about a good scary book in October. Halloween is just around the corner, creepy..."
The Year of Shadows
 
4.5
"Middle Grade fiction and I don't usually get along, which is funny considering their covers are the cutest things EVER...."
The Year of Shadows
 
4.0
"What I Liked: My second favorite aspect of The Year of Shadows is definitely the heroine. Olivia Stellatella is a..."