The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia #1)

 
0.0
 
4.3 (21)
1822 2

User reviews

7 reviews with 4 stars

21 reviews

 
(10)
 
(7)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.1  (21)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.4  (5)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
Great Adventure!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
A classic tale with magic and adventure. A must read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I Loved It!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rosie

I think this sequal is very good. All of the kids have livley personalities. But it is also very serious. I can't wait for the movie. The Wite Witch seems very, well evil. I like The Chronicles Of Narnia because as long as you know there is another world it doesn't matter if you read them in order. Even though I highly sugjest not reading the last first. But this whole series is amazing. READ THEM ALL!

I gave this book a four because it did get boring in some places!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
On the other side of the wadrobe-a new realm awaits
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Fiona Flamingo

Open the wadrobe door...and enter...

The World of Narnia....
where animals speak, druids exists, and an evil witch-queen reigns over this winter Wonderland...(except it really isn't a wonderland after all...)
Four brothers and sister discover this magical place unexpectedly. One is lured into the grasps of wicked witchen and the other three must rescue him from her castle. And of course, along the wyay, there is a turkish delight, beavers, exotic creatures and talkative animals.
This the second book in a dazzling classic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
One of the best in the Narnia collection
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by linda

It all starts in a closet and beyond that is a world seen by few people other than Lucy. She brings along her siblings and Edward is entranced by the White Witch whose evil reigns over Narnia. With help from the magical creatures Lucy, Peter, and Susan are able to save Narnia and return it to the glorious state it was in originally.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Really Good Fairy Tale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Carmen



It begins with a war, and ends with a rush! I just re-read this book so let me tell you about it while it is fresh in my mind...
(oldesst to youngest:)There are four children named Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, and they have to go away for a while so that they can be safe from the war. When little Lucy discovers a mysterious room with nothing but an old wardrobe in it, their adventure really begins.
At first, when Lu discovers the hidden, magical world inside, she meets a faun and befriends it.
When she returns no one will belive her at all; that is, untill Edmund finds out about it too.
He meets the White Witch (who has taken over Narnia and cast a horrible spell that makes it always winter, but never Christmas.) Soon the whole group is together and they meet a couple of very friendly beavers...talking beavers! As a matter of fact; all of the animals can speak.
Well, that is all I have time for, and I promise that there is alot more of a plot, but I do highly recomend this thrilling story!
Carmen
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Great Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Holly

This is a great read for both boys and girls. It is a good, adventureous story filled with alot of challenges for the characters. Lucy gets stuck inside a wordrobe and she takes her syblings their many times and discovers so much in so little time!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Only A Savior can Save Us
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by snailshot

In the second installment of The Chronicles of Narnia , we venture into a land bitten by eternal frost. Four adventurous children lead us into a frozen Narnia through the way of an "enchanted " wardrobe. in this land we discover the spell of the White Witch, what we know as "Queen" Jadis of the destroyed world of Charn. A spell of deep magic which can only be broken by a sacrifice, a sacrifice of a great one.


A very delicious read, maybe even more delicious than Turkish delights, I enjoyed it so much that I devoured it in less than three days, the quickest I've ever read in a very long while. Looking for an appetizing refreshment, read this book you won't be disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."