Review Detail

Kids Fiction 25881
book review _ my ENGLISH ASSIGNMENT A+
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by KELSIE

Good morning/afternoon fellow class mates and Mrs Benjak today I will be talking about the plot, setting, characters and themes in the book a Bridge to Wisemans Cove by James Molony.

There was a family of 4 by the names of Kerry, Sarah, Carl and Harley. Their mother (Kerry) left her 3 children (Sarah, Carl and Harley) alone often, after a couple of days she would return. Many times Kerry had done this and one time she did not return home. Kerry left her three kids alone to defend them self.
Sarah the eldest child was left as their guardian and provided the basic things, Sarah eventually got tired of providing for her brothers and left overseas. Before Sarah left she sent Carl and Harley to the Aunty Beryls. Harley found things difficult at Wattle Beach and decided to hang around the wrong people, and got up to mischief. Aunty Beryl decided to kick them out from their behaviour, Carl told her if you do you will not get any money Aunty Beryl took the bribe and let them stay.
Carl also found it hard and did not fit in well, he always kept hidden until he saw a girl on the beach, that he was eager to met. Carl met the girl and her best friend he became closer to the girls and began to work at the barge. He was barley at the home he was staying at and began to defend on his own. Carl felt like he was never loved until he found that this was not true.

The theme that the Author James Molony is trying to produce is No matter what, Family and friends come first, keep them safe, try your best no matter how hard it is and never let anything or anyone come in the way of what you really want.
The mental illnesses in the book are, depression and non-self confidence. These examples come from Kerry followed by Sarah and Carl. Kerry often was depressed and the way she handled it was by running away, her daughter Sarah soon followed this. Carl did not have allot of self-confidence and also got depressed he was bullied about his look and weight and did not have many friends. Carl eventually made friends and felt like he was free when he found the truth and that people actually do care about him.

In the book the major development was, Carl he found some self-confidence and was not frightened in what he did anymore, he stood up to himself and when a challenge came along he began to cope with it. He found out the truth and didnt let anything come in the way of what he wanted.

The Author James Molony uses description language to make the book full of excitement and emotion. Some examples of the descriptive language are-

She blocked his escape and he bounced away like a dodgem car at 90 degrees.
The girl speared her knees into the beach beside him.
The pine forest fell silent.
&A single tear reached the tip of his nose.
The hand was moving more slowly now.
Carl changed allot through the book and the Author changed him to help people that felt the same way to escape reality. Carl was shy hadnt got much confidence and no friends. Carl began to realise what was happening and he learnt to deal with it.

The setting in the book was either at Aunty Beryls house, The Barge or at Wattle beach. The Author used these three settings mainly because the events that happened in the book related to these particular settings.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."