Review Detail

Kids Fiction 3127
Tangy Popsicle Worth the Taste
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Boonie

The sweat taste of a cherry popsicle on a hot sweaty afternoon in the summer takes you back to carefree days as an elementary student. Little did you know that as the sugary treat was consumed that it would signal an end to the unencumbered freedom of these afternoons. The endless days give way to the tensions and struggles of junior high and the relentless pressure to be 'in' and to keep from falling off the precarious, enviable perch of popularity.

Author Jenny Han guides us through this transformation from 6th grade to 7th, giving us the first person account of Annemarie Wilcox, or affectionately 'Shug'. Shug bares her soul in ways she cannot with her family and friends, as her friendships weather the inevitable storm of middle school. Shug has you wanting things to work out with her childhood friend Mark, as her interest in him morphs into romantic feelings. Shug has you yearning for a spot with the in crowd, as you experience pangs of regret for who she must reject to stay there. Shug has you aching for her, as she unapologetically states how her family clings to dreams and seeks to find meaning in the world.
Most of all, Shug, without whining, gives you a glimpse into her world in an honest forthright manner.

This is a book as memorable as the popsicle on the cover, and after finishing off the last page, you will find the faint taste of cherry popsicle lingering on your tongue.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by NSL This book was recommended to me by our middle school librarian. She had never read it..."
 
5.0
TM Terry Miller Shannon
"This is the story of fourteen-year-old Charlie (who happens to be blind) and how he must prove his father is..."