Review Detail

Kids Fiction 76
silly graphic novel for early readers
Overall rating
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
WE HAVE A PLAYDATE is a silly graphic novel for early readers. With relatively few words and mostly told in pictures, the book tells about friends who are going for a playdate at the playground - and making a new friend, once they can figure out how to play together. The story is told in parts by which equipment they are playing with, including the slide, swings, and see-saw.

What I loved: This is a really simple read with great use of colors, cute characters, and straight-forward plot. The graphic novel format works well for children who like to have a story told through images. Sparse text makes it a great choice for early readers who want to independently enjoy a story without having too much to read. The story is a simple enjoyment of the playground with minor conflicts as they all figure out how to use the equipment properly. There are definitely some moments that are sure to make children giggle, as there are a lot of errors and issues along the way.

What left me wanting more: The characters are a little rough with each other on the playground (mostly accidentally), and I would have preferred more gentle play and less injuries, but I do know that this style of comedy will appeal to young readers.

Final verdict: A simple story and ample illustrations make WE HAVE A PLAYDATE a solid choice for early readers with graphic novel format. Recommend for fans of Mo Willems and Ross Burach.
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account