Review Detail

Kids Fiction 175
A rich, magical story
(Updated: July 19, 2021)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own kingdom, and birds have their Republic of Birds. Olga’s family has been exiled to the Imperial Center for Avian Observation, where her father is determined to regain the tsarina’s favor by finding the long lost firebird egg that started the war so long ago. When his actions anger the birds, Olga’s younger sister, Mira, is captured. Olga must journey into the Unmappable Blank and confront her growing magical powers if she wants to save her sister.

3 Reasons to Read THE REPUBLIC OF BIRDS:
1.) The atmosphere- Olga’s world is a wintery, magical land with yagas, talking birds, and more. The scenes are lush with descriptions of the land, particularly given Olga’s affinity for maps. This makes the world building feel rich and fantastical.
2.) Olga’s characterization- Olga is a highly relatable protagonist. Her sister is full of talent, and her parents never let her forget it. While she loves her sister dearly, she can’t help but be a little resentful of the praise and attention she receives. As Olga journeys to save Mira, Olga finds her own talents and her own power.
3.) The magical school- All through her childhood, Olga has heard terrifying stories of the boarding schools for yagas. When she starts to develop magic of her own, she’s horrified at the thought of being sent there. In her journey, Olga encounters the school. I won’t go into details in order to avoid spoilers, but the school is a whole world unto itself that I wish we had more time in.

THE REPUBLIC OF BIRDS is a rich, magical story perfect for fans of S.E. Grove’s THE GLASS SENTENCE and Catherine Fisher’s THE CLOCKWORK CROW.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...

Latest Member Reviews

Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Escape the Underdark: An Endless Quest Book
 
4.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Dungeons & Dragons: To Catch a Thief: An Endless Quest Book
 
4.7
"Nostalgic parents rejoice! Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore...."
Dungeonology
 
5.0
"Intricately illustrated and concise in explanations, this primer is a gorgeous and interactive addition to any D&D fan's collection. ..."