Review Detail

Kids Fiction 134
Just One Spark
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in a book, to seek education, and to use the skills she obtains through study and reading to share this spark with others.
Good Points
The pages start with very dark tones, but soon brighten as the girl learns and grows. We see pictures of things she imagines set against a background of various rural and urban places. When she starts school, we see more and more characters, many of them children wearing school uniforms. These are all done in a very pleasant style that has a bit of an Eloise Wilkin vibe to it, but with more proportional (and more diverse!) faces.

The description of the book, and well as the note in the back, address the global problem of girls in education more than the actual text does, so this is more of an inspirational book than an informational one.

Hand this one to readers who enjoyed Rosenthal's Dear Girl, Harrison's Little Leaders, Harris' Ambitious Girl, or Phenomenal Woman for a nice dose of female empowerment and motivation.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...

Latest Member Reviews

Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games, 2)
 
5.0
"What I Loved: THE HAWTHORNE LEGACY, a sequel to THE INHERITANCE GAMES, is a book full of intrigue and mystery..."
The Secret Starling
 
3.5
"Clara Starling is used to the drudgery of life with her uncle in his huge mansion. It’s all routine, cold..."
The Stitchers
 
4.0
"Quinn’s neighborhood is mostly normal, until you look at Goodie Lane. The residents of Goodie Lane have lived there for..."
Batman: Overdrive
 
4.0
"Batman Overdrive by Shea Fontana is a re-imagining of Batman’s origins. A young, pre-Batman Bruce Wayne is at the beginning..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel
 
4.0
"Mars Patel idolizes Oliver Pruitt, a powerful tech giant who also runs Pruitt Prep. Mars and his friends Toothpick, JP,..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
Weird Kid
 
5.0
"Jake Wind is finding middle school a challenge: his dad is a proctologist who can't stop making butt jokes, and..."
Golden Gate (City Spies #2)
 
5.0
"After a mission aboard a ship that ends with Sydney blowing things up and Brooklyn saving the daughters of a..."
The Stitchers
 
5.0
"Quinn Parker lives on Goodie Lane in a small Connecticut town with her mother and her older, arthritic dog,..."
The Secret Starling
 
4.0
"It's 1974, and Clara is being raised in a decrepit, remote country mansion by a stern and uncaring uncle because..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
Shark Summer
 
4.0
"In this graphic novel, we meet Gayle, who has moved to Martha's Vineyard from Boston so that her mother can..."
Duckscares: The Nightmare Formula
 
5.0
"I don’t know who enjoyed this book more: my son or me! The Nightmare Formula by Tommy Greenwald is the..."
City Spies (City Spies #1)
 
5.0
"Sara is a hacker who managed to break into the foster care computer system to report her troublesome foster parents;..."
Rescue at Lake Wild
 
5.0
"Madi and her friends Aaron and Jack live in Willow Grove, a small town where they are able to go..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."