Review Detail

Kids Fiction 128
Can friendship and courage transform a dark past into a hopeful future?
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box with a dried heart inside it, he and El are suddenly the most wanted people in Clarel. There's something odd about the heart, something that reeks of magic long forbidden. When the heart starts talking to Pip, he, alongside El and friends, Oni and Princess Georgette, must decide who is friend or foe and who really needs saving.

THE THREADS OF MAGIC is a fun, fast-paced middle grade fantasy with themes of friendship, found family, and making hard but right choices. Pip, El, Oni, and Georgette are all endearing main characters with exciting and creative intersecting paths. Pip and Georgette especially have completely opposite lives and personalities, but I love how they quickly became a team with a common goal.

The chapters are short and often end on cliffhangers, making this a solid pick for readers who want high action and something to keep them turning the page. The mystery of the heart and the plot among the royals is likewise compelling and engaging, often using familiar tropes but turning them on their heads a bit. The third person, omniscient point of view lends fascinating glimpses into some of the secondary characters and helps lay out the intricate plot, though it was sometimes hard to remember who was who if we didn't see their character for a while.

THE THREADS OF MAGIC is highly accessible, full of heart, and has a fun amount of sly humor for comic relief, perfect for fans of Deva Fagan and Dominique Valente.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...

Latest Member Reviews

Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
The Darkest Star
 
4.3
"Okay, let's be honest here. Let's just get everything out in the open, shall we? No one and I mean..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"With Armentrout’s characteristic snark and swoony romance, STORM AND FURY will not disappoint fans who have been eagerly awaiting this..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"Trinity has never been allowed to leave her home compound because of her secret. Here, she has friends, a protector,..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
5.0
"That's why I love paranormal romances :D"
Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)
 
4.7
"This was so refreshing, to see a little snippet into the almost perfect Aiden's head, we get to see how..."
Stone Cold Touch (Dark Elements #2)
 
5.0
"This installment picks up just a few weeks after Roth has sacrificed himself at the end of White Hot Kiss...."
The Darkest Star
 
4.7
"After the alien invasion, things have calmed down. Well, somewhat. Evie doesn't know her world will be turned upside down..."
Life Inside My Mind: 31 Authors Share Their Personal Struggles
 
5.0
"This is a raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health. Thirty-one authors share their stories which include..."
Don't Look Back
 
4.0
""Don't Look Back" is a one-off thriller from Jennifer L. Armentrout. It begins with Samantha appearing bloody and beat up..."
Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I read a TON of fae fiction and A WICKED TRILOGY by Jennifer L. Armentrout is so hilarious and refershing...."
Onyx (Lux #2)
 
4.7
" It's been a wee bit since I read this book but what I remember most is the relationship between..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
4.7
" loved this! It was fast paced and the hot and cold relationship between Daemon and Kat had me in..."
Bitter Sweet Love (The Dark Elements #0.5)
 
5.0
"This novella was meant to introduce the reader to the series. Gargoyle Wardens and demons being the main characters. This..."
Origin (Lux #4)
 
4.7
"First off Spoilers will be here, as this is the second to the last in the series there is nothing..."
Shadows (A Lux Novella)
 
4.3
"I loved this view into Dawson and Bethany's love. I knew it would be insta-love from the Lux series,..."
Half-Blood (Covenant #1)
 
3.7
"As much as I loved the Lux series, this one didn't do anything for me. I'm not sure what..."