Review Detail

charming book about friendship and sharing
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
COOKIES FOR ELMO is a fantastic picture book about sharing. Cookie and Elmo are playing together, and Elmo is sharing all his great toys with Cookie. Cookie loves the way it helps their friendship grow, and he wants to also share something with Elmo in return. He thinks of the perfect thing- cookies! He makes a batch to give to Elmo, but uh-oh, he eats them. He makes a second batch and walks them over to Elmo's house. However, he is having trouble controlling himself and ends up eating those too.

He then talks to Bert and Ernie about his problem- and together, they come up with the perfect solution.

What I loved: This book is highly relatable for children who may be thinking about how to grow friendships and/or struggle with sharing or self-control. I also really loved that Cookie wanted to share, even if he was having trouble doing so. So many books about sharing focus on a character who is adamantly against it, and this comes at the topic from a different angle. I also love the problem-solving he does through a friendly brainstorm with Bert and Ernie where they help him think of other solutions. There is also a great lesson throughout about why sharing matters- because it helps you build friendships and build stronger connections and because it shows your friends that you care and have fun.

The writing is all in rhyme that rolls off the tongue smoothly. I love the rhythm of the book as it is read aloud, and the images are perfect with favorites from Sesame Street and plenty of color. This is a bit of a longer picture book, which is great for older toddlers, preschoolers, and early elementary aged readers.

Final verdict: With great lessons about friendship and sharing, COOKIES FOR ELMO is a great picture book read that will appeal to young readers. Recommend whether or not you already have a good sharer.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
Aru Shah and the City of Gold
 
5.0
"***This review contains spoilers for the prior series installment, book 3, ARU SHAH AND THE TREE OF WISHES** With..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
The Wild Huntsboys
 
4.0
"Luka lives in a dystopian future, in Bellum, which is war torn and horrible. There is technology, when their aren't..."
A Wolf for a Spell
 
4.0
"Zima is struggling to adjust to the new dynamics of her pack ever since her parents died in a fire..."
Little Lion Rescue (Little Animal Rescue)
 
4.0
"Callie's class is on a trip to the zoo. Since Callie wants to be a veterinarian when she grows up,..."
City of the Plague God
 
5.0
"Sik spends most of his time working at this parents' deli in New York City. One evening when he's closing..."
The Captive Kingdom
 
5.0
"*I received an eARC of this book through Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review* Jaron has returned with..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars
 
5.0
"THE BOY, THE WOLF, AND THE STARS is an enchanting middle grade fantasy. Bo was left in the woods as..."
Dragon Mountain
 
5.0
"Billy Chan has gotten an invitation to attend Camp Dragon, a cultural and language school in China, so his parents..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magician's Nephew
 
4.5
"A prequel and an origin story; in more ways than one. It becomes easy to see..."
The Cassandra Curse (Muse Squad, #1)
 
4.0
"MUSE SQUAD: THE CASSANDRA CURSE is a fun middle grade fantasy that brings Greek mythology into the present. Callie is..."