Review Detail

Along Came a Fox Featured
Kids Fiction 245
beautifully illustrated picture book with a spelled out lesson
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her that there are some by the water, but when Bramble goes and looks in the water, she is startled to see another fox. When she scowls at the fox and tells it to go away, the other fox does the same as her speech echoes back to her. When she goes to get her wise friend Twig the owl, Twig wants to know what Bramble did to make the other fox upset. Bramble admits that she got upset first, and this sparks a lesson about treating others the way you want to be treated.

What I loved: The illustrations are so lovely in this book, with lush background scenes and beautiful colors. The animals are so adorable as well, and I love Bramble, Twig, and Hazel, all the friends who set out to see fireflies together. There are some subtle messages about support from friends, with Hazel giving Bramble a hug when she is upset and Twig providing a listening ear, and about putting your best paw forward.

What left me wanting more: The lesson is spelled out at the end, and I am not sure that this was the one that I most took away from the story (children will know that the reflections are not real animals). I guess that is why it is stated rather than just understood/shown (because it may not be taken away otherwise). Also, as a small thing, the black font over the blue water is difficult to read in low lighting, such as at bedtime.

Final verdict: Lush illustrations and adorable characters make ALONG CAME A FOX an interesting picture book read. With a lesson clearly spelled out, this would be one for children who are early in learning deductive reading/critical thinking.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...

Latest Member Reviews

You Made Me a Dad
 
5.0
"YOU MADE ME A DAD is a charming story of fatherhood, beginning before the child is born through when they..."
You Made Me a Mother
 
4.0
"I love stories about being a mom and the joys of parenthood. This book explores the joy of being pregnant,..."