Review Detail

Kids Fiction 143
fun new adventure for Bonaparte
(Updated: July 15, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
BONAPARTE PLAYS BALL matches up the Monsters and Aliens at the Weird Series baseball game. Bonaparte and his team practice hard leading up to the big game, but it's no walk in the park. The book details each inning as the Monsters strive to beat the Aliens among poor sportsmanship and taunting. With a can-do attitude and teamwork, Bonaparte keeps his heads in the game.

What I loved: The illustrations here are absolutely fantastic with memorable monsters and aliens all throughout the book. They also have a lot of detail with the crowds and settings that give children a lot to look at on each page. There are some great principles in the story about the importance of practice, working together, and never giving up- even when it seems impossible. The characters are really fantastic, and all the monster puns add some extra fun to the plot.

What left me wanting more: Even as someone who played softball (albeit a very long time ago), it was hard to understand some of the terminology in the book and this may make it harder for some readers to get into it. The recounting of the game is extremely detailed and may be too long for a younger audience. There are also instances of poor sportsmanship, such as the aliens causing one of the Monsters to pass out, and taunting/name calling that are not really addressed, and it would have been nice to get some clear lessons about these.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a memorable and fun baseball game that will engage young children with cute puns and delightful characters. Bonaparte leads the way to victory in this cute picture book about persistence and diligence.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
A Straw Man
 
4.5
"'A Straw Man' by Amalie Jahn is the third and final installment in her 'Clay Lion' series. Melody, the sister..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"n the third and final installment in the ‘The Clay Lion’ trilogy, Charlie’s little sister Melody takes her own trip..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
Playing by Heart
 
5.0
"This beautifully written Young Adult novel centers around the strong faith of two sisters, Emilia and Maria, and their extraordinary..."
Playing by Heart
 
5.0
"This is a beautiful piece of historical fiction, set in 18th century Milan. The main character is a musician, and..."
Dragon's Awakening
 
4.0
"When Kaylee goes on a date and the guy tries to make a move on her, she accidentally calls on..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
4.0
"The story: Lune Tatum, the adoptive daughter of this dystopian world’s Supreme Elite, wants out. Out of the walled..."
Nia & The Numbers Game
 
5.0
"What readers are saying: Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for..."
Playing by Heart
 
4.0
"The Story: Emilia is a young woman in Milan who has become somewhat of a musical prodigy. She's a composer..."
Emerge: Immortals of Indriell (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Summary Allie was never really normal. For some reason, everyone seemed to recoil at her touch. Her parent’s job..."
The Bird Queen's Book
 
5.0
"he Bird Queen's book is a smart, moving, and immaculately presented tale of a kid coming to terms with loss..."
Earth to Skye
 
4.6
"Told in two distinct parts - before Skye's death and Liv's trip the Himalaya after, I enjoyed seeing the juxtaposition..."
Stig's Flight of Encounters (The Hidden City of Chelldrah-ham)
 
4.0
""Strange creatures, exotic landscapes, and an innocent inventor make this story a welcome addition to the genre." — ForeWord Clarion..."
Stig's Flight of Encounters (The Hidden City of Chelldrah-ham)
 
5.0
""Stephan von Clinkerhoffen is a talented, excellent writer and has created a very well written and well-crafted novel. I love..."
Oleah Chronicles
 
5.0
"Angel is just your normal average sixteen year old girl... or so she thought. Angel goes to school everyday, her..."
Phoenix
 
5.0
"A wonderfully creative piece, with relatable characters and an intriguing plot line."