Review Detail

The Series Prequel
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
A prequel and an origin story; in more ways than one.

It becomes easy to see why this book has sometimes been placed as the first in the seven-book series. But personally, I like it where it is--retroactively answering questions the reader may or may not have thought to ask. (i.e. Why did the professor in TLTWATW not surprised by the childrens' claims? And why did he seem to know a thing or two about the potential passage of time within another world...?)

Such a different structuring and feel from any of the other books in the Chronicles of Narnia series. The tone is almost more speculative or sci-fantasy than solely fantasy. It strikes a chord that seems likely to have resonated with Madeline L'Engle not so many years later...
As with the majority of these books, it begins in England--and features a pair of children who are transported to another place. But unlike in the others, their translocation isn't by some happenstance, unconscious request, or act of fate. It is instead the result of a callous and cowardly "experiment" perpetrated by a would-be magician. (There are points where the flawed innocence and nobility of the children is pitted directly against the greed and manipulations of said adult--and with a chilling effect worthy of any contemporary works.)

In some sense, the fantasy/sci-fi worldbuilding here was well ahead of its time. Not only is it clear in this portion of Lewis' imaginings that there are many other worlds, a whole multiverse of them, outside of our own... but there is also depicted a place of many portals leading to these realms--a waystation full of waygates, if you will.

Lewis only meant to write <i>The Lion The Witch and the Wardrobe,</i> originally. That he ultimately wrote a 7-book series is remarkable. But what is most demonstrative of his boundless creativity is the fact that this book--and perhaps all the rest by extension--exist because a friend of his asked him how a lamp-post ended up in the midst of a Narnian woods. And the question intrigued Lewis enough that he spent five years on and off composing this particular literary answer.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
 
4.0
"I found it vaguely reminiscent of 'My Side of the Mountain', from a distinctly female perspective, and facing a harsher..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Gaby B.         The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles, by Julie Andrews Edwards is a..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ananya A beautiful story with tragic ending. It is about a boy who becomes friends with..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by BB HS AB We read Bridge To Terabithia it was about a boy name jessie..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Abby and Justin   Bridge To Terabithia is about a boy named Jesse and a girl named..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Sage This was a great book I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. It was extremely well written and..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by athena Jess don't fit in at school and has all ways been bullied by older kids...."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amy I really enjoyed reading this classic book of Jess, a young boy growing up in the..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Shelby Bridge to Terabithia is a great book but I wouldn't recomend it to little kids because..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by vampreviews This was a pretty good book,  it's set back in 1919, and it's about a girl..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Well, since I had already read the first book in this series, I was already captivated..."
Night of the Soul Stealer (The Last Apprentice #3)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Compared to the other books in the series, I thought this was a very well-written book,..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Twinkletoes This book captures your imagination and makes you feel like a little kid. It helps you..."
Chasing Redbird
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Tasmin This book is about a thirteen year old girl named Zinny who accidentally "rediscovers" a huge..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede I read this book when I was younger and then re-read it to my kids as..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Hippolyta is wandering through the forest with her sister Antiope as usual, squabbling with her fellow..."
Atalanta and the Arcadian Beast (Young Heroes #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Atalanta and her foster father are hunting in the woods when they first realize they are..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Mary's brother Jacques has finally settled down, marrying an Indian woman. Mary's father is so delighted..."
Bridge to Terabithia
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jo I loved this book, and my kids did too. We all thought it was way better..."