Review Detail

Kids Fiction 132
delightfully sweet read about feeling different and friendship
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is about Maurice, the adorable flapjack octopus. Maurice is sometimes hard to spot, because he doesn't stand out in class (when the other children are raising their hands, he is hiding under the desk) or on the playground. However, when no one is watching, he's an amazing dancer.

Maurice is invited to dress-up party, and when his parent RSVP's yes (even though he doesn't want to go), he creates a colorful paper bag to wear. Once at the party, he meets with a friend who is shy like him (hiding under a similar paper bag)- Lucy, the box fish. The book concludes by saying the shy ones always know how to find each other.

What I loved: The illustrations here are so lovely. They capture the ocean atmosphere and the adorable creatures herein so well. Children will love trying to spot the hiding Maurice on each page. After you have read the book, you will notice that if you go back, you can also spot Lucy hiding throughout, and this adds to the fun of multiple reads. The text is simple, which works for a broad range of ages ad the pages can turn quickly, making this great for even young toddlers. Whether shy or outgoing, this book will capture children's attention with the cute creatures, bright colors, and simple text. This picture book speaks to the feeling of being different and making friends.

Final verdict: Perfect for fans of HELLO, MY NAME IS OCTICORN, SHY ONES is a sweet and lovely read that will capture children's imaginations. Young readers will love following Maurice in this endearing book about friendship and feeling different.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
July 20, 1969. It’s a day that has earned a...
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Thurgood Marshall—the great grandson of a slave—was born, African...
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There’s lots of fun to be had up on the...
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This endearing story of identification and values shows the rewards...

Latest Member Reviews

Sounder
 
3.0
"HarperCollins issued a revised edition of this on 30 Decemember 2019. This 1970 Newbery winner is set in the deep..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Holes
 
3.5
"A family curse, a false accusation, a local legend, and a series of coincidences come together in this generation-spanning tale..."
It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
4.5
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a short illustrated novel by renowned genius Neil Gaiman that spins a clever twist..."
 
5.0
"Johnny loves his job as a teen stuntman, even if it means filling in for Ricky Corvette and not being..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"This is the most realistic book about girls in middle school I have ever read. it gets how girls..."
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend
 
4.5
"Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is humorous and delightful. I laughed my way through this book, and it’s no surprise..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
5.0
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a picture book that is as illuminating as it is dark. Spinning the fairytales..."
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)
 
3.0
"After a long day I wanted to read but I wanted something light, and entertaining. I opted for a kid’s..."
The Graveyard Book
 
4.0
"One can't possibly claim the title of this book isn't fitting...or exceedingly literal. >.> The story does indeed revolve around..."
Because of Winn-Dixie
 
4.0
" “Because of Winn Dixie” is written by Kate DiCamillo..."
Bliss
 
4.0
" This book is recommended to 12+ and in my opinion you will enjoy it for all the readers out..."
 
N/A
"This book is about a boy named Widge, and he is an orphan, and he has a good personally. I..."
 
4.0
"I found it vaguely reminiscent of 'My Side of the Mountain', from a distinctly female perspective, and facing a harsher..."
 
4.0
" I have to credit my early love of this book for a phase of reclusive nature-loving, and much..."
The Forbidden Library
 
4.0
"My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every..."
 
3.0
"I really enjoyed this book for what it was. It kept me up till late, I finished it in one..."
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed the book No Talking by Andrew Clements. I think we all could learn an important lesson from..."
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
 
5.0
"I read this book when I was in high school (who didn't right??) It's still a classic and probably one..."