Review Detail

Guide to a Classic Series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Nearly twenty years after its original publication, Artemis Fowl is a movie! It's apparently on Disney Plus, so readers who are determined to read the book before watching a film version will have a renewed interest in this classic fantasy series.



Instead of focusing on Artemis, the evil criminal mastermind at war with the fairy realm in the seven book series, this guide book is meant to be a translation and interpretation of the fairy tome, The Book of the People, and there a number of side notes from Holly Short, one of the main fairy characters, littering the pages.



There are several catalogs in the book that are very helpful, especially if its been a while since one has read the series. There are descriptions, with very nice drawings, of the different creatures that people the fairy realm, similar entries of the main characters in the books, complete with their characteristics and main accomplishments, and a really fun section detailing all of the gadgets and buildings used in the books. The pencil drawings by Andre Pelaes and Carlos Tron really bring the characters and settings to life.



In addition to these descriptions, there are some illustrative stories offered by way of illuminating certain parts of the manual. We hear from Jeffrey Wigglebottom, who was seen by Mud People, Pidge Plank, who tells a cautionary tale of trying to enter a human dwelling without permission, and an incident report from Officer Root about why its important to fully understand one's equipment. These are fun auxiliary tales to get back into the swing of the series, if it hasn't been read in a while.
Good Points
The Artemis Fowl (2001) series, along with the newer The Fowl Twins (2019) series, is a nuanced, action packed, well-written set of books that never fully define which side is good, and which side is evil. Artemis is at odds with the L.E.P.Recon and other forces, and I've never been completely convinced that he's the good guy. This is a little unusual, but makes for riveting reading. Readers who enjoy this ambiguity in Salane's Lawless series, Walden's HIVE, and Buckley's National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society (NERDS, #1) will look forward to either reading Colfer's original series or watching the television show, and can supplement their knowledge with this helpful guide.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
 
4.7
"If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to..."
The Shadow Queen
 
4.0
""The Shadow Queen" is a fantastic retelling of Snow White. Lorelai is a young princess when her mother does and..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
4.0
""The Wish Granter" is a YA fantasy set in a fairy tale world. Ari and Thad are the illegitimate children..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
4.3
"This is the retelling of Rumpelstiltskin. The second installment was evidently better than the first. It had better character(s), writing..."
The Shadow Queen
 
3.3
"This is the retelling of Snow White. A story about a young girl is on a quest to reclaim her..."
Ink
Ink
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old Leora's dad is dying, but Leora and her mom, Sophie, take comfort in the fact that he'll live on..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
5.0
"It’s become quite clear that I will read anything Katherine Arden writes. Her debut The Bear and the Nightingale was..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
The Bear and the Nightingale (The Bear and the Nightingale, #1)
 
4.7
"The Bear and the Nightingale is a fantasy book you will never forget, it’s a fantastic mix of Russian folklore,..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
4.3
"An uncommon fairytale retelling, with an equally uncommon heroine—ideal for fans of Once Upon A Time. While tied..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
5.0
"As THE WISH GRANTER begins, the King of Sundraille’s illegitimate children, Thaddeus and Arianna, are trying to escape being murdered..."
Queen of Hearts
 
4.3
KimKim
"Imaginative and vivid, The Queen of Hearts is the first book in Colleen Oakes' Queen of Hearts series which is..."
Queen of Hearts
 
4.3
" Take a journey into Wonderland; its whimsical, a little bit crazy, a tad bit dark. But what else would..."
The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest (A Medieval Fairy Tale)
 
4.3
"A sweet coming-of-age historical romance--featuring a dangerously bold heroine and a hero who is bound by duty is to bring..."
The Golden Braid
 
4.0
"A sweet YA/NA crossover romance appealing to all ages, with strong themes of courage and fortitude in the face of..."
The Shadow Queen
 
4.7
"In the Kingdom of Ravenspire, Lorelei is the crown princess and a fugitive ever since Queen Irina murdered her father..."