Review Detail

Kids Fiction 452
Mysterious Circumstances in a Small Village
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
In 1893, Myrtle is being raised by her father, a lawyer, and her governess, Miss Judson, after the death of her mother. Myrtle is very interested in the law, crime, and the art of detection, so she is especially interested when her older neighbor, Miss Wodehouse, is found dead in her bathtub. Miss Wodehouse raised and propagated Gilded Slipper lilies and was wealthy, and Myrtle feels that something is not right. Between the missing cat, the state of the garden, and details she uncovers (like the state of Miss Wodehouse's nightgown), Myrtle has plenty to keep her investigating. Add a niece and nephew who could inherit, and the plot thickens. Her father objects more for show than in order for real change to be made, and Miss Judson is ready to encourage her charge. The Victorian era was not a great time for a young lady to be interested in science, much less crime, but Myrtle manages to stay out of trouble most of the time, and even manages to make friends with Caroline, the daughter of Dr. Munjal. Will she be able not only to prove that Miss Wodehouse was murdered, but to solve the case?
Good Points
There were a lot of twists and turns that I didn't see coming, which I always appreciate in a mystery. Myrtle and Miss Judson rode bicycles, believed that girls were as good as boys, and dealt with the strictures of society during this time period in a realistic, if enthusiastic, manner. The way Myrtle was treated by her peers ran true to era.

In addition to the details of what it was like to live during this time, there were a lot of fun additons, like the reporter's involvement. The lilies added an interesting touch, as did the gardener.

Myrtle wasn't that nice; she was privileged and spoiled and did not take other's feelings into account. Comparisons to Bradley's Flavia de Luce are apt, but younger readers often enjoy characters who aren't necessarily great examples of behavior, like Junie B. Jones, so this is just a personal preference.

Readers who like Robin Stevens' Wells and Wong mysteries or Jocelyn's The Body Under the Piano (Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen, #1), or who aspire to read the great women mystery writers of the 1920s like Christie, Sayers and Wentworth, will love Myrtle's adventures and look forward to her second outing in How to Get Away with Myrtle, being released in October 2020.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after classes...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off meets Nick and Nora’s Infinite...
The People We Choose
 
3.3
 
5.0 (1)
When 17-year-old Calliope meets her new neighbor Max, their...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to...
Slingshot
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
An exciting debut contemporary young adult novel perfect for...
The Keeper of Night
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Death is her destiny. Half...
The Girls are Never Gone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an...
White Smoke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Haunting of Hill House meets Get Out in this...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cardboard Kingdom
 
4.0
"In an ordinary suburban neighborhood, a group of multicultural children spend their free time creating characters that inhabit the titular..."
Welcome Home, Bear: A Book of Animal Habitats
 
5.0
"Bear isn't feeling quite so happy in his forest home anymore, so he decides to wander off to visit some..."
I Pledge Allegiance
 
5.0
"I PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE is the perfect choice for kindergarten and preschool classes learning the pledge of allegiance, with themes of..."
Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin
 
4.0
"What I Liked: I flock to fairy tale retellings like greedy men flock to rumors of girls who can spin..."
Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin
 
4.0
" review Rump was a cute, quick read. Rump was an admiral character with his determination to do..."