Review Detail

Kids Fiction 2604
Historical Perspective is Important
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
HarperCollins issued a revised edition of this on 30 Decemember 2019. This 1970 Newbery winner is set in the deep South at an undetermined point before 1950. It concerns a young boy whose family lives in a Negro (the outdated term used in the book) sharecropper shack, and struggle to survive. When the father is arrested for stealing a pig in order to feed his family, the family suffers even more. During the arrest, the boy's dog is shot, but the mother orders the boy to let the dog go off to die. He finds part of the dog's ear and keeps it with him. The father is not treated well, and the family is not alerted when he is moved from one situation to another, each one involving more forced labor and more horrible conditions. At one point, the boy tries to bring him a cake, but it is destroyed with malice by the warden. The boy spends a lot of time combing the countryside, looking for his father. At one point, he is injured, and a teacher helps him bandage his hand and helps him learn to read, something he has long wanted to do. The father eventually comes home, gravely injured, and Sounder (who was badly wounded but survived) feels that it is time that he can die.
Good Points
I have my concerns about this one. It was a Newbery winner 40 years ago, and while it is an important historical document, I would give it to young readers with great caution and a lot of discussion. It's not #OwnVoices, the African-American characters are not even given names, the n-word (as well as the outdated Negro) is used, and the mistreatment of the African-Americans is just accepted as normal. There's also a lot of description about letting Sounder go die where he wants, and the boy keeps part of the dog's ear that was shot off in his pocket.

There are so many other good books for young readers today that put even historical racial injustice in better perspective. Writing styles also change, and Sounder is very slow paced and lyrical. Jackson's Midnight without a Moon, Woods's The Unsung Hero of Birdsong, USA, Wright's Crow, Burg's A Thousand Never Evers, Draper's Stella By Starlight, and Cline's Finding Langston, all offer historical perspectives filtered through modern sensibilities, and are better choices for young readers who may not have adults to help them process the racial injustices of the past.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Whatever Became of the Squishies? (Whatever Became of the Squishies #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Isabelle I was looking for something to inspire my class of 9th graders into exploring books and..."