Review Detail

Kids Fiction 176
Survival on the red planet
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father, Manish, works at a ranger station outside of the dome, so he has taken Michael and his brother outside many times. Michael really wants to get his space suit certification, but he had a disastrous experience the one time he tried, and when he sneaks out to take the test again, his second time doesn't go well either. He blacks out, and comes to in the hospital. His parents are understandably angry; he's been diagnosed with anxiety, and has been told that as long as his "condition" of having panic attacks persists, he is not allowed to travel outside the dome. This makes him angry, and he feels like he is letting his father down. When his friend Lilith surprises him by arranging to meet one night near the edge of the dome so that they can travel outside just to look at stars, Michael decides that it's a great time to travel to his dad's station to say "hi". There are some problems going on in the community that are hush hush-- something with solar flares and the magnetic field around Mars perhaps being compromised, but taking off in a rover for a six hour drive should be just fine. Of course, it isn't. When it is unsafe to stay outside in the rover because of the flares, the two try to hide in a cave, and their exploration leads them to a station that has seen problems. They eventually manage to find Randall, a man who worked with Michael's father, and he helps everyone survive in abandoned shelters, living on old curry ready meals and monitoring their space suits for vital stats. Michael takes several very dangerous chances to try to contact his father's station, and doesn't have panic attacks all of the time. Eventually, he and Lilith are in very grave danger; will they be able to survive and make it safely back to the colony?
Good Points
This had a lot of good details about what it would be like to live on Mars, which is something I wanted from Emerson's Last Day on Mars (Chronicle of the Dark Star #1), before that book took off from the planet. I liked that the emergency took place entirely on the planet, and we got to see the various places where people could live. Traveling across Mars was also interesting, and very suspenseful. I really didn't think that Michael and Lilith could possibly survive! This was a fast-paced, quick read for fans of Sylvester's MINRS, Landers' Blastaway, Levy's Seventh Grade vs. The Galaxy and Buzz Aldrin's fantastic nonfiction book, Welcome to Mars.

Young readers will enjoy the fact that Michael does so many really, really stupid things; they'll be putting themselves in his shoes and thinking about how they might make other decisions. It's good to see a discussion of anxiety and panic attacks, and a bit unusual for a speculative fiction title to address these concerns.

Reading books like this make me all the more sure that I don't want to live on another planet, but the details of daily life, the survival in extreme conditions, and the friendship between Michael and Lilith will make this a great choice for young readers who need to escape Earth for a while.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
One young girl reflects on a year with her beloved...
The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"This instalment in the Percy Jackson series sees Percy, Annabeth, Grover and Tyson delve into the frightening depths of the..."
The Lightning Thief: The Graphic Novel (Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Graphic Novels #1)
 
5.0
"This is the first instalment in the bestselling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. The first two books have even..."
 
4.0
"4.5 stars! I really enjoyed this series. It was fast paced, filled with humor and excitement. After reading the first..."
 
5.0
"If there were ever such a thing as a perfect novel, The Last Olympian would be it. The novel was..."
 
5.0
"If the previous three novels in the series were amazing, The Battle of the Labyrinth was phenomenal. The adventure was..."
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1)
 
5.0
"I’m sure we all have that book on our to-be-read lists, a book that you constantly stare at thinking, “I..."
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1)
 
3.5
"3.5 Stars For fans of light urban fantasy, this book has a number of tried and true aspects..."
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1)
 
3.0
"Honestly, was disappointed. So much hype, but that's the problem with hype is you begin to believe it after..."
The True Meaning of Smekday
 
4.0
"Full disclosure: I have the pleasure of drinking coffee with this author several times a month. He's even more hilarious..."
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1)
 
4.0
"I'm finally getting around to this series. I found this first book enjoyable enough, and I'll continue reading. I think..."
The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this audiobook! I got it for my kids to listen to and I think I liked..."
The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
"Let's just get this out of the way now: I still love the Percy Jackson series more. But that's really..."
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1)
 
4.0
"Perfect for a 9-14 years old public, I think. That’s why I regret not having read it earlier, I would..."
The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)
 
5.0
"I don't know why I put off reading this series for so long. I had finished with Percy Jackson around..."
The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)
 
5.0
"This book was awesome. I love companion series. They're like series, but better. Because the story never ends and you..."
The Classroom: The Epic Documentary of a Not-Yet-Epic Kid
 
4.5
"Oh my stars - this book is way too cute. It took me right back to middle school and everything..."
The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus #2)
 
5.0
"This is the best book I have read (and the first book I have read in iBooks!) This is the..."
The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)
 
5.0
"This book had everything a great book needs plus more! (My favorite part is King Midas) So the book starts..."
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1)
 
4.0
"The Lightning thief is about Percy Jackson having to save his mother after the god Hades takes her.Hades thinks that..."
The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)
 
4.5
SamSam
" Overall I loved this book! Yes, it lllloooooonnnnggg, but in my opinion its worth it! I def plan of..."