Review Detail

Appreciating New Things
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and learning to appreciate different foods. While Pete is content with pepperoni, his friends are interested in trying pretzels, papaya, pickles, and more on their pizza. Despite their questioning of the options presented to them, all of the friends open themselves up to the possibilities that the variety of toppings brings. With the way that kids are often reluctant to try new foods, this book helps to show that trying new things is not necessarily going to be bad, and you may just surprise yourself and find out you like something you never thought you would.

Other fun aspects of the book include alliteration in the repetition of the letter “P” since all of the toppings begin with that letter, and the fun activities the characters get to do as they spend time at the pizza party. The illustrations do a very nice job of bringing the story to life for readers. Another nice addition to a picture book bookshelf, especially if one likes the 'Pete the Cat' series of books.
Good Points
With the way that kids are often reluctant to try new foods, this book helps to show that trying new things is not necessarily going to be bad, and you may just surprise yourself and find out you like something you never thought you would.

The illustrations do a very nice job of bringing the story to life for readers. Another nice addition to a picture book bookshelf, especially if one likes the 'Pete the Cat' series of books.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

The Muddy Little Piggy's
 
4.0
"All together this was written for children and it definitely shows I think any child that loves farm animals will..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by #1 Supporter Though this book may be abit harsh to the untrained eye, it clearly possesses a..."
The Puppy Who Found A Boy
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Brittany Written from the puppy's point of view, it shows how special the bond between a..."
101 Borden Street
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by mike shelly123 I just received the item I ordered, and was very pleased I got a truly..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Samantha I loved this book.  Tara and her friends get into some situations that every girl should..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Laura A great book and a must read for anyone starting to date.  For me, this book..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lindsey S. Tara is someone that I could like, if she went to my school.  She has..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alicia When your new to dating, everything seems exciting, but it can also be scary.  Tara experiences..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Joelle M. Great Book, all the romance and drama, and no vampires....I loved it. Tara and her..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kayla Roberts I loved the characters. They remind me of my friends. Lots of romance and drama...."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ella--EB Great Book.  Its a must read for anyone that likes romance novels or series books.  I..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex This book is one of the best books that I have read in a long time...."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by GABRIELLA OMG! THIS BOOK IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. WHEN I GO INTO THE 7TH GRADE THIS YEAR I..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Life Blossoms Like a Rose in Thorns" Review by B.K.Walker sent to..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Poems That Thrill" Poems Reviewed by Joanie Faulton and sent to the..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Poems That Thrill" Poems Reviewed by Joanie Faulton and sent to the..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jayan "Life Blossoms Like a Rose in Thorns" is a work of fiction about Smitha, who..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Douglas R. Cobb Fourteen-year-old Krista McKinley finds herself a stranger in a strange land when she, her..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzy Before I started it, the only knowledge I had about this book was from a few..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Gwyn Lee   In the Young Adult novel LOOKING..."