Review Detail

delightful middle grade interactive series
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book. In these books, you have been thrust into Astorya, a fictional land, where you don't know your name and are only armed with a pencil. The book includes fill-in-the-blank mad-lib style entries, puzzles, mazes, and places where you can draw the way you would imagine something. The vast majority of the book remains the actual plot/story line, so the entries are a bonus for the tenacious middle grade reader.

The first book ended with you saving Astorya from Queen Rulette. This second book starts right after the first one ended where you must again save Astorya by protecting the Original (the story that created Astorya). In this journey, you and the gang must go to the Other Side (of the page). A whole new and completely ridiculously delightful story awaits. Filled with funny moments, clever puzzles, and all sorts of interesting characters, this book is another charmer in the series.

What I loved: These books have a lot of potential in that they can be really interactive and engaging. I could easily see these being a classroom read, where students complete the puzzles/tasks together or alone. The story itself is really strong, so the interactive parts are just a bonus. Astorya is quite imaginative with plenty of comedy and action/adventure. The footnotes are also completely delightful and add some extra fun to the book.

Final verdict: This is a really fantastic middle grade series that I would highly recommend for this audience. Fans of SIDEWAYS STORIES OF WAYSIDE SCHOOL, CHOOSE YOUR OWN ADVENTURE books, fairy tales, mad libs, and puzzles will all find something to delight in this unique new series.
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account