Review Detail

completely charming and delightfully ridiculous
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as she and her mother keep moving. She does not have any friends yet and feels completely awkward, to the point that she would rather just not have a birthday party. After she goes to bed, she decides to come back and speak with her mother some more, when she sees her mother dressed for a party, stepping through a large paper lantern.

Fred follows to find herself in the Land of Impossibility, where she first encounters an imprisoned white elephant, Downer, who explains the basics about the Land and its Rat Queen, particularly her many rules and the very important Rat Rule 79, where so many things are outlawed, including birthday parties. As Fred begins her quest to find her mother, she will encounter puzzles, riddles, and all sorts of magnificent and clever creatures.

What I loved: This is a very thoughtful book that presents a lot of ideas in interesting and reflective ways (such as why children must go to bed when they feel less need for sleep but adults, who love sleep, stay up late). The text and characters are completely charming, often taking colloquialisms to the literal (e.g. when people could not talk about the elephant in the room, Downer was ignored for being that elephant). It is very humorous and quite clever that makes it an engaging read, even for adults. The book is also quite unique, as I am not sure I have read anything quite like it.

I also really enjoyed the celebration of childhood, as children are the best thing in the world in the Land of Impossibility. The snippets from Fred with her mother were also marvelous, and some of the puzzles and games quite imaginative.

Final verdict: In the vein of Lemony Snicket, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, and THE WIZARD OF OZ, prepare to be transported to a fascinating, clever, and often comical land along with Fred, as she begins an incredible journey. Highly recommend for middle grade (and all aged) readers who are looking for a book that does not fit any mold.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...
Girls With Sharp Sticks (Girls With Sharp Sticks, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. ...
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and...
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
What if you could skip forward in time, but...
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best...
Golden Chains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Never fall in love with the enemy. If only...
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around...
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...

Latest Member Reviews

Abandon (Abandon Trilogy #1)
 
4.7
"I personally really loved this book! Meg Cabot is one of my favorite authors and I loved the whole series!..."
Awaken (Abandon #3)
 
2.0
AshAsh
"Nice action, honestly. Funny, the only thing I really liked was one small quote Pierce's mama said. "'Oh no,'..."
Abandon (Abandon Trilogy #1)
 
1.0
AshAsh
"1.5 stars. It was okay, but I will never pick up this book to read it again. While the story..."
All-American Girl (All-American Girl #1)
 
5.0
"I absolutely LOVED this book! This is one of Meg Cabot's best books! It did sometimes go on to more..."
Avalon High
 
4.7
"I liked the movie,but I loved the book! I literally finished this book in 2 hours! It was amazing! It..."
Princess in Waiting (The Princess Diaries #4)
 
5.0
"This is a great book! i would recommended this book for girls 13+. It does talk about how Mia's cousin..."
The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries #1)
 
5.0
"This book had me laughing! I loved this book! I couldn't put it down,meg Cabot has done it agian!!! I..."
Twilight (The Mediator #6)
 
4.3
"MY THOUGHTS This book has to be my favorite of the series! It was such a fabulous ending to the..."
Darkest Hour (The Mediator #4)
 
4.0
"MY THOUGHTS This is definitely my favorite of the series! Suze's stepfather and stepbrothers are digging in..."
Ninth Key (The Mediator #2)
 
3.3
"MY THOUGHTS I read the first book a few months ago and I enjoyed it! This isn't a dark..."
Reunion (The Mediator #3)
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS This is a very fun series and I very much enjoy reading them! These books are beginning..."
Haunted (The Mediator #5)
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS The last book ended with a kiss between Suze and Jesse (YES!), but now Suze doesn't know where..."
When Lightning Strikes (1-800-Where-R-You #1)
 
4.7
"ALSO ON MY GOODREADS I'd been planning to read this book for a while, but just now got around to..."
Awaken (Abandon #3)
 
3.3
"I really wanted to love this book from the beginning, but I didn’t. It was very slow to start and..."
The Bride Wore Size 12 (Heather Wells #5)
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Meg Cabot is, in fact, my most-read author, just narrowly edging out Janet Evanovich for that honor...."
Awaken (Abandon #3)
 
4.0
"Pierce is now the Queen of the Underworld and as such, helps out in the daily duties such a job..."
Awaken (Abandon #3)
 
2.3
"Hmm... well. I wasn't really feeling Awaken. I made the mistake of reading Underworld and Awaken within a few days..."
Underworld (Abandon Trilogy #2)
 
3.0
"This version of Persephone and Hades is moving right along. Underworld was the second book in the Abandon series by..."
Airhead (Airhead #1)
 
5.0
"i loved this book, it was recommended to me by a friend and i have to say it was pretty..."
Abandon (Abandon Trilogy #1)
 
1.3
"I didn’t know anything about Abandon when I first picked it up, but when I learned that it was a..."