Review Detail

completely charming and delightfully ridiculous
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as she and her mother keep moving. She does not have any friends yet and feels completely awkward, to the point that she would rather just not have a birthday party. After she goes to bed, she decides to come back and speak with her mother some more, when she sees her mother dressed for a party, stepping through a large paper lantern.

Fred follows to find herself in the Land of Impossibility, where she first encounters an imprisoned white elephant, Downer, who explains the basics about the Land and its Rat Queen, particularly her many rules and the very important Rat Rule 79, where so many things are outlawed, including birthday parties. As Fred begins her quest to find her mother, she will encounter puzzles, riddles, and all sorts of magnificent and clever creatures.

What I loved: This is a very thoughtful book that presents a lot of ideas in interesting and reflective ways (such as why children must go to bed when they feel less need for sleep but adults, who love sleep, stay up late). The text and characters are completely charming, often taking colloquialisms to the literal (e.g. when people could not talk about the elephant in the room, Downer was ignored for being that elephant). It is very humorous and quite clever that makes it an engaging read, even for adults. The book is also quite unique, as I am not sure I have read anything quite like it.

I also really enjoyed the celebration of childhood, as children are the best thing in the world in the Land of Impossibility. The snippets from Fred with her mother were also marvelous, and some of the puzzles and games quite imaginative.

Final verdict: In the vein of Lemony Snicket, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, and THE WIZARD OF OZ, prepare to be transported to a fascinating, clever, and often comical land along with Fred, as she begins an incredible journey. Highly recommend for middle grade (and all aged) readers who are looking for a book that does not fit any mold.
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account