Review Detail

Kids Fiction 153
Awesome Crazypants Fun
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to a scientist, who left lots of dusty boxes in his wake. Marty is scared to start fifth grade, because he knows that the simplest missteps will ruin his entire year. Of course, he manages to do everything that was on his list of things NOT to do-- he introduces himself to the class as Farty Montana, and the day just gets worse from there. He ends up at lunch at the dreaded Zeroes Table, right under the watchful eye of the cafeteria monitor, with other "weird" kids Ralph and Skyler, All three like to play the video game Sheriff Turbo-Karate, so they bond over that. When Marty has the two to his house, they find a robotic dog, and manage to get themselves in big trouble with Dr. Crazypants, an inventor of evil formulas who has a mansion that Awesome Dog manages to trash. Even after Marty and his friends apologize, Dr. Crazypants tries to get his revenge in all sorts of wacky ways. The worst case scenario comes to be when the villain ingests both Cutie-Pie and Tons of Tush potions and turns into a rabbit with twenty-foot-tall butt cheeks. Will the friends, along with their robotic dog, be able to save the day?
Good Points
Awesome Dog manages to follow the tried and true formula of Captain Underpants while bringing some fresh twists to it. There are the fearless heroes with powers (this time acquired through the robotic dog), a goofy villain bent on destruction, lots of chase scenes, and ultimately, a vanquishing of evil... for the time being. Readers will be glad to know that a sequel, Awesome Dog 5000 vs. Mayor Bossypants is due out in March 2020.

Fifth grade has a lot of friend drama that crops up at school, so Marty's fear of his new school is one that many young readers will share. I'm not a fan of calling characters "dorks", but the fear of being excluded is a real one, and the fact that Marty does find people with whom he has a lot in common will reassure readers who struggle with making friends.

I'm a big fan of robotic dogs like the Sony Aibo or the new Tombot, so Awesome Dog's antic were fun for me to read. Of course, such an awesome pet needs a super evil villain to challenge him, and Dr. Crazypants (while politically incorrect) is a lot of fun.

Adults will no doubt pick apart this notebook style novel, but readers who enjoyed Jay Cooper's Spy Next Door, Barnett's Mac B.: Spy Kid, or the goofy goodness of Falatko's Two Dogs in a Trench Coat will laugh themselves silly over Marty's antics in this new series.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...
Girls With Sharp Sticks (Girls With Sharp Sticks, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. ...
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and...
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
What if you could skip forward in time, but...
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best...
Golden Chains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Never fall in love with the enemy. If only...
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around...
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...
A Betrayal Exposed (Not Every Girl Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Davenport’s life is finally going smoothly, until if falls...
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible. Have...

Latest Member Reviews

Hatter M  The Nature of Wonder  Volume 3
 
4.0
"Hatter Madigan has just escaped a mad house to travel to Washington D.C. in 1865. He's still looking for..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kelsey Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor is yet another look into Alyss' fantasic thrill-ride Wonderland. Ever..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Misty (Book Rat) The Looking Glass Wars is an alternate history retelling of Lewis Carrolls Alices Adventures..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Joe M. Seeing Redd is the sequel to one of my favorite books, The Looking Glass Wars...."
Hatter M: Mad with Wonder
 
4.0
" What if the girl Alice from the story Alice in Wonderland really existed?  And the world got the story..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by moonymaster The book was okay but by the end I felt very unfulfilled. Nothing interesting happens until..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lexie I have never been interested in Lewis Carroll's books, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lexie The second book in Beddor's Looking Glass Wars trilogy picks up fairly closely to the end..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by alex fast paced adventure.  fans of fractured fairytales will love this book. the series is a take..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by KitKat What an original idea! It was the premise that hooked me - the writing style was..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Stephanie The evil Redd Heart has disappeared into the Heart Crystal, and Alyss is now the rightful..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Stephanie You thought you knew the story of Lewis Carrolls Alice in Wonderland& well, think again. Frank..."
 
4.0
D2 Dominique, 2006 Teen Demi-Goddess
"Everyone knows the story about Alice in Wonderland&but what if some of that was true? What if there was..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by mimagirl I went into this novel - "the true story of Alice in Wonderland" - rather uneasily,..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jocelyn This book has popped up everywhere. I've seen it all over the place! For some reason,..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alexandra Surely you know the story of Alice in Wonderland. But you probably know the Lewis..."