Review Detail

charming and funny interactive adventure
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Part mad libs and activity book plus fully developed fictional story, MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD is a delightfully interactive read for the middle grade audience. Told entirely in the second person, the book takes the reader through an adventure in which they are cast in the starring role. The reader gets to interact with the book by filling in the blanks, solving puzzles, and even drawing their version of a more or less scary villain.

In the land of Astorya, you are surrounded by fictional creatures with only your pencil. However, as you soon learn, that pencil is the most powerful of tools, as anything you write can become a part of the story too. After finding a letter calling for help, you set out on a quest to find out what happened to you and rescue Prince S. There's villains, magic, and more in this charming and funny story.

What I loved: This book is a pleasure to read and would do well in a classroom setting, where children can giggle and create together. The chapters could be easy to read a couple at a time aloud, with children filling in the blanks together or separately. There are plenty of activities that are a part of and/or could be derived from the book, making it quite interactive. The book is overwhelmingly a comedic adventure, so it will appeal to a broad audience.

Final verdict: Delightful, hilarious, and full of heart, this interactive book has great potential to appeal to young readers. I would put it on a similar level as the SIDEWAYS STORIES OF WAYSIDE SCHOOL but with fairy tale elements, mad libs, and puzzles. This book is perfect for middle grade (8-12yo) classrooms or solo reads, but I bet you'll want to talk about it!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

Backlash
 
N/A
"What I Loved: BACKLASH by Sarah Darer Littman surprised me in the best way possible. After reading the synopsis,..."