Review Detail

Kids Fiction 245
Air Boo & Boo!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Danny's family lives in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. The family has struggled financially, with his filmmaker father doing contract work, and in order for Jake and Danny to have their own space, Danny ends up with a closet bedroom. When Jake heads off to Cornell on a scholarship, Danny hopes to get his own room, but the parents decide to rent it out as an Air Hotel room. Danny's not happy about this, but there isn't much he can do. Odd things start to happen as his mother works to set up their new business, though-- the web site won't take the listing, customers have to call support to book, and the bed keeps falling apart. Even stranger are the sightings of ghostly faces in pictures and in the window. Danny consults his friend Gus, whose family runs a butcher shop, and his friend Nat, whose family has had a deli for over a hundred years. They agree with Danny that the room seems haunted, but aren't quite sure what to do. Suggestions come from Danny's grandmother, who thinks there is a dybbuk who needs to be understood to be dispatched. The kids do some research and find that a tragedy occurred in the apartment. After some parental dissent, Nat is able to stay overnight and help talk to the ghost, find out what is tying her to the room, and figure out a way to help her move on.
Good Points
This is more of a love letter to Brooklyn than a scary ghost story, but it is quite fun nonetheless. The details of Danny's every day life will seem super exotic to my students, most of whom can't walk to stores, schools, or anything else! For some reason, the various Air Hotel guests were funny and fascinating, and reading about Nat's family deli was also enjoyable. The family's financial struggles were realistic; there are a lot of odd expenses associated with college, and I can't think of a single middle grade novel to address families hosting hotel guests! (In their own home. There are books about actual hotels and motels.) The ghost story is well constructed, and i thought the reason for the dybbuk to hang around was very sweet. Like this author's The Game Masters of Garden Place or Click Here to Start, this is a fun novel with just a little bit of the supernatural.

This is similar to Cummings' Trace or Barrett's Cold in Summer, in that the ghost story was historically based and a bit sad. When she possessed the hotel guests, it was more humorous than frightening. This makes the book the right level of scary for me!

Fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Betty Ren Wright will like the slight ghost mystery, and readers who want humorous books or books set in New York City will enjoy this one. The cover is very appealing!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...

Latest Member Reviews

The Woodlander: The Arrival of Fate
 
4.0
"Leo is set to become the new Woodlander and when she learns that magical creatures exist, her entire world changes..."
Shatter City
 
4.0
"SHATTER CITY by Scott Westerfeld is the second book in the IMPOSTERS series. It begins with Frey stuck inside Shreve..."
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
"IF YOU MISS ME is a beautiful picture book about loss, love, and grief. Charlie loves to dance, and she..."
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
"LEARNING ABOUT THE GARDEN WITH SLEEPING BEAUTY is an intriguing combination of fairy tale and nonfiction facts about gardens. On..."
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
"SQUIRREL DO BAD is an entertaining graphic novel about the consequences of small actions. The book begins with Wendy the..."
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
4.0
"Myrtle's small English village is like many who seem to suffer from far too many murders, especially for the late..."
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
"Anthony "Ant" Joplin is in his last year of elementary school (where his aunt is principal-- not at all awkward!),..."
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
"DISCOVERING THE UNDERGROUND WITH SNOW WHITE contains the fairy tale of Snow White along with fold open pages that detail..."
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
"After the separation of Pakistan from India, Nek Chand moved from Pakistan to India. Even though he left, he missed..."
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
"BISA'S CARNAVAL is a colorful and delightful celebration of Carnaval and family. Bisa loves Carnaval and is happy to show..."
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
"REDEMPTOR is a stunning conclusion to an atmospheric and imaginative YA fantasy duology. Picking up where the first book left..."
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."