Review Detail

Kids Fiction 173
heavy and emotional read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their father calls her that- he calls her Mary), have created a safe space under Eleanor's bed for the bad nights. Eleanor tells Mike stories and they try to ignore the horrible sounds from downstairs. The two have also constructed many rules in their minds about how they must behave to keep their father from becoming a monster.

Eleanor and Mike believe in house magic, which is how things clean up after these episodes. When their father breaks an heirloom that they thought was a witch ball, a river begins to appear under Eleanor's bed, and they travel to another world. They learn that the barrier has been broken and now they must find a way to repair it. At the same time, their lives are becoming more dangerous and the rules are becoming more complex.

What I loved: The imagery is absolutely gorgeous and the story is absolutely heart-wrenching. This book gives new insights into the psychology of victims of abuse and the ways that they organize their lives and thoughts. The magical realism elements are really interesting and bring new insights to the characters through their exploration of riverland.

I would caution readers to approach with care, as this is a very heavy read and deals with some difficult situations of child abuse (physical, emotional). This may be better for older middle grade readers and for older audiences. Regardless, it's a powerful book.

Final verdict: Emotionally heavy with important themes and beautiful imagery, RIVERLAND is a powerful middle grade novel about dealing with the impossible. This novel is full of sisterly love and delves into the psychology of victims of abuse.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Foxheart
 
5.0
"A fantastically clever and magical adventure, complete with incredible feats of bravery, heart-warming characters, and strange beasts. FOXHEART tells the..."
Guys Read: Terrifying Tales
 
5.0
"There is something so wonderfully satisfying about a good scary book in October. Halloween is just around the corner, creepy..."
The Year of Shadows
 
4.5
"Middle Grade fiction and I don't usually get along, which is funny considering their covers are the cutest things EVER...."
The Year of Shadows
 
4.0
"What I Liked: My second favorite aspect of The Year of Shadows is definitely the heroine. Olivia Stellatella is a..."