Review Detail

Kids Fiction 249
delightful journey with empathy, patience, and kindness at the heart of it
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Take a magical journey with Princess Alice in this delightful picture book. HAVE YOU SEEN MY BLANKIE? tells the story of Alice as she goes in search of her missing blanket, following the clues from her brother, Prince Jack, to Giant Jim, to the witch, and finally the dragon. However, Alice has a hard time taking the blanket back as the dragon needs it to help him sleep too.

As Alice searches for a replacement, the dragon and Alice go through potential items before finding just the perfect thing. With messages about empathy, patience, sharing, and making new friends, this book is a pleasure to read to young children.

What I loved: The text is written as a beautiful poem with plenty of rhymes that will appeal to young ears and give a great rhythm while reading. The font size is easily readable from a distance and is made for reading out loud to little ones. Illustrations perfectly compliment the text, bringing the story to life with a cute sketching style. There is a lot to look at in the book, including with the witch's house, Prince Jack's fort, and more. The text can be a little lengthy in some spreads, but the rhyming nature and detailed illustrations makes it easier for younger toddlers to love it regardless. The addition of some sounds (e.g. Achoo! when the dragon sneezes) add some extra fun for toddler ears.

Final verdict: Perfect for toddlers, preschoolers, and even young elementary schoolers, this picture book is an absolutely delightful journey. HAVE YOU SEEN MY BLANKIE? is a lovely story about Princess Alice's search for her blankie which ultimately contains positive messages about sharing, generosity, empathy, and determination. Highly recommend for any young readers looking for a joyous new adventure.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

No Truth Without Ruth: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
 
5.0
"As an adult woman, I don’t really remember a time when women couldn’t do the things they wanted to do..."