Review Detail

Kids Fiction 193
sweet book celebrating friendship
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman shivering in the cold, and brings him a scarf. Other animals join in, bringing Snowman lots of warm colorful scarves. Snowman is finally warm. However, when the weather warms up, Snowman disappears, leaving a pile of scarves behind. Squirrel is sad to have lost her friend, but she is comforted by Owl who tells her that Snowman is still with her in spirit.

Children who love bright colors, winter, and animals will delight in the story that combines these elements. The story is told through rhythmic text which will also appeal when read aloud. The overall message may not be as clear for younger readers, but it could spark some good discussions about loss of friends or people they care about. Notably, Snowman could come back in the future with the snow, so this could be better for non-permanent loss (e.g. when a friend moves away or when a summer camp ends); however, the book does not address if Snowman would return.

What I loved: The book is beautifully colored and illustrated, giving young children a lot to look at. There are many animals pictured also, which also appeals to young readers. The text has a lovely rhythm to it that makes reading it lovely. Considering that this could be good to use in situations of loss, this is a good tool for explaining about friends who must go away or change and celebrates the time had with them and the love shared.

What left me wanting more: As a relatively small point, it does seem weird to have Snowman melt when all of the animals are trying so hard to warm him up (almost sends an odd message), but on the surface, it is still a cute story.

Final verdict: With lovely illustrations and sweet forest animals, A WARM FRIENDSHIP celebrates love and giving with a seasonal friendship of Squirrel and Snowman. Recommend for elementary-aged readers who are experiencing change and loss of friendships, such as moving or switching schools/classes, as this can start great discussions.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found