Review Detail

Kids Fiction 242
engaging middle grade
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is a moving middle grade contemporary fiction about trusting your parents, finding your heritage, and navigating friendships. Edie is 12 years old, and she knows that her mother is Native American, but she was adopted as an infant, so did not have close ties to a tribe. Edie thought that this was the end of the story until she finds a box in the attic with her friends filled with pictures of a woman who looks just like her- and is named Edith.

Edie is spending a lot of time with her friends with whom she is making a film for a contest. They plan to do an animated film, and Edie has an idea for it to be about a dog (because she is not very good at drawing people and dog movies are very popular). When they find the box, one of her friends, Amelia, says she should keep it a secret, while Serenity suggests she should talk with her parents. Amelia also wants to make the movie be about Edith, but Edie is uncomfortable about the idea.

While Edie is grappling with the idea of the box and her heritage, she is also dealing with Amelia and her new friendship with a girl who is often mean to Edie, making fun of her name and looks. Edie is navigating these social situations at the same time as she is evaluating whether she can trust the parents that kept knowledge about Edith from her.

What I loved: The book is a solid read, with a pace that is even all the way through. The ultimate issue at the heart of it is one that needs more attention, and this book is a great way to teach young children about it. While laws have changed about removing Native American children from families, this is not ancient history and still somewhat a problem today. Books like this help educate and bring awareness to these issues.

This book was also just a great story about parents being human and keeping things from children because they want the best for them- a common theme for many kids. The resolution is about talking to parents, and not trying to keep it from them, and I think this sends a great message.

The addition of dealing with evolving friendships is also a common one as children grow up and enter adolescence, and I think the message at the end about choosing friends who are kind and empathetic is ultimately good.

What left me wanting more: As a small point, I would have liked some more resolution to the conflicts and to know how their video did in the contest (though I guess the main point was the video itself, not the prize).

Final verdict: I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is an engaging and thoughtful contemporary middle grade that tackles some important issues. Highly recommend for this age group (and even those outside of it). This is a really poignant story that speaks beautifully to the reader.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found