Review Detail

Kids Fiction 388
unique and engaging book with dragons
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
EMBER AND THE ICE DRAGONS is a lush middle grade historical fantasy that follows Ember, a dragon who was transformed into a human girl. Ember is the last known fire dragon, as they were hunted into extinction. After her parents were killed, a powerful Stormancer, Lionel St. George, used his magic to turn her into a girl and has raised her as his daughter. He also disguised her wings so that people could not see them. Ember has mishaps when her fire escapes, and taking the opportunity, decides to go to Antarctica to stay with her Aunt Myra, who is part of the scientific expedition there.

In Antarctica, Ember finds some new friends and also a new purpose. Like the fire dragons, ice dragons are being hunted into extinction. The Winterglass Hunt is set to take place with the prince and his son leading the way. Ember works her way into the hunt to try to sabotage it and save the ice dragons from being killed.

What I loved: This book has a lot of humor which will appeal to the middle grade audience. The story is also full of magic and dragons, as well as action/adventure and danger. The story builds slowly which is great for the younger middle grade audience. There is also an interesting theme about extinction and hunting that will bring this real life issue to the middle grade crowd. This ends up being very unique, as I have not read anything quite like it before.

The setting of Antarctica was also unusual and interesting, bringing a new place to the audience complete with penguins and some 24-hour dark days. While it is set in the past, the book is somewhat without time due to the magic of it all, and so appeals to readers regardless of whether they usually like historical settings.

What left me wanting more: As a small point, the book is relatively lengthy for a middle grade fiction, but the pacing is good and the plot interesting.

Final verdict: Unique and engaging, EMBER AND THE ICE DRAGONS tackles the need for protecting endangered species and being different with the intriguing setting of Antarctica and with plenty of magic. Recommend for middle grade readers who are looking for a light-hearted and amusing story about dragons and tenacious young girls (or dragons, in this case).
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found