Review Detail

Cog
Kids Fiction 2493
You need your own robot!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind use to watch learning (cognitive development) behavior. He lives with Gina, who functions as his mother and sets him to do certain tasks so she can watch how he handles them. Often, he does not calculate the entire impact of his actions (like saving a chihuahua from being hit by a truck by getting in front of the truck), which makes him very much like the average middle school student! When his latest exploit leads to him being returned to corporate headquarters, he is not happy there, especially since Nathan, one of the scientists, wants to alter his "mind". With the help of Trashbot, Proto the robotic dog, a computerized auto named Car, and his sister, ADA, Cog breaks out of uniMind and sets off on a mission to find Gina. Cog seems to have odd powers that can occasionally control other robots, which is why uniMind wants to study him, so they are of course in hot pursuit. The group of gizmos gets into all sorts of scrapes along the way, many involving the unwise use of Car! ADA turns out to be a destructive/offensive unit, so has some untold depth of weaponry and tactics hidden within her system, which helps the group evade capture for a while, but they are eventually brought in by the police. When Nathan arrives to take them back to headquarters, Cog knows that he doesn't have their best interest at heart. Will Cog be able to prevent his brain being probed for the unknown X-Module that gives him extra capabilities?
Good Points
Cog is a fun character, and books with road trips, especially when it's escaping evil scientists, are always in demand. I loved ADA and her latent destructive capabilities! This is a book that had my children read it when they were young, they would have gone around acting like Cog and reenacting scenes from the book! Readers who enjoyed Patterson's House of Robots or Richards' Robots Rule! series will enjoy this one.

The futuristic setting is somewhat dystopian, but not enough to be scary. We don't see too much of the outside world, being more concerned with the robots and their adventures, but what we do see is not significantly different than reality. It's only when we see Cog's world that things seem definitely like science fiction. Although, with the companion robots they have in Japan, is it that far fetched?

Van Eekhout does great middle grade science fiction books, including Voyage of the Dogs, The Boy at the End of the World (2011), and Kid vs. Squid (2010). Readers who like robots will read about Cog and wonder what it would be like if Siri or Alexa would come to life in their house!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...

Latest Member Reviews

Field Trip
 
4.0
"Ben's dad has done it yet again-- this time, he has decided to flip the house that Ben's family is..."
Family Ties (Liar, Liar #5)
 
4.0
"Kevin is still trying his best to impress Tina, on whom he has such a crush that he thinks about..."
Vote
 
5.0
" Read this one for Kevin's misguided self-confidence, and for the awesome turns of phrase. When Kevin's sister expresses surprise..."
Crush
 
5.0
"Kevin has decided that it's not enough to just have a crush on the beautiful Tina. He is going to..."
 
4.5
"This is the best book about surviving that I have read, it's on my top 5 list. My favorite part..."
Road Trip
 
4.0
"Dog books continue to be more and more in demand, and travel books are one of my favorite things, especially..."
Crush: The Theory, Practice and Destructive Properties of Love
 
5.0
"There are heaps of middle-grade books about girls falling in love, and good thing too, since it’s an important piece..."
 
5.0
"I learned early on that the books required to read in school are not so bad. This was one of..."
Crush: The Theory, Practice and Destructive Properties of Love
 
5.0
"Kevin has decided that it's not enough to just have a crush on the beautiful Tina. He is going to..."
 
N/A
"I think the book is ok, but i feel that some people will like it learning wise, not that much..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Raelyn             Hatchet is the most exciting and thrilling book Ive ever read. It is about..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by ccc I think hatchet was awesome!!!!!!!!!! It showed survival skills that I didn't even know.          I guess a..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede Hatchet is about a 13 year old boy named Brian.  He is flying to visit his..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Timmy         Imagine three young kids abandoned from a wagon train in the desert. One reason they..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Meeshee Another old time childhood favorite. Hatchet is a "survival manual" to those who don't wish to..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ryan Alright, Hatchet, Hatchet, Hatchet, you got to love Hatchet. OK the story starts out he's..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Adam This is a book that when you start you can't stop. A kid decides to..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jinxie This is the 4th book in the Tucket series. Francis Tucket and his new family,..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Allire In this book Brian was on his way to see his father. His parents recently were..."
Brian's Winter (Brian's Saga #3)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Steph Awesome book! In this book Brian is trapped in the winter time not summer like Hatchet.My..."