Review Detail

Cog
Kids Fiction 70
You need your own robot!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind use to watch learning (cognitive development) behavior. He lives with Gina, who functions as his mother and sets him to do certain tasks so she can watch how he handles them. Often, he does not calculate the entire impact of his actions (like saving a chihuahua from being hit by a truck by getting in front of the truck), which makes him very much like the average middle school student! When his latest exploit leads to him being returned to corporate headquarters, he is not happy there, especially since Nathan, one of the scientists, wants to alter his "mind". With the help of Trashbot, Proto the robotic dog, a computerized auto named Car, and his sister, ADA, Cog breaks out of uniMind and sets off on a mission to find Gina. Cog seems to have odd powers that can occasionally control other robots, which is why uniMind wants to study him, so they are of course in hot pursuit. The group of gizmos gets into all sorts of scrapes along the way, many involving the unwise use of Car! ADA turns out to be a destructive/offensive unit, so has some untold depth of weaponry and tactics hidden within her system, which helps the group evade capture for a while, but they are eventually brought in by the police. When Nathan arrives to take them back to headquarters, Cog knows that he doesn't have their best interest at heart. Will Cog be able to prevent his brain being probed for the unknown X-Module that gives him extra capabilities?
Good Points
Cog is a fun character, and books with road trips, especially when it's escaping evil scientists, are always in demand. I loved ADA and her latent destructive capabilities! This is a book that had my children read it when they were young, they would have gone around acting like Cog and reenacting scenes from the book! Readers who enjoyed Patterson's House of Robots or Richards' Robots Rule! series will enjoy this one.

The futuristic setting is somewhat dystopian, but not enough to be scary. We don't see too much of the outside world, being more concerned with the robots and their adventures, but what we do see is not significantly different than reality. It's only when we see Cog's world that things seem definitely like science fiction. Although, with the companion robots they have in Japan, is it that far fetched?

Van Eekhout does great middle grade science fiction books, including Voyage of the Dogs, The Boy at the End of the World (2011), and Kid vs. Squid (2010). Readers who like robots will read about Cog and wonder what it would be like if Siri or Alexa would come to life in their house!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy...
Kingdom of Souls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay. The...
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
"This heartwarming story deals with friendship, empathy, caring, nurturing and...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two young...
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The third installment of the Making of America series, Abraham...

Latest Member Reviews

The Survival List
 
4.0
"A worthy read. The Story: Sloane is dealing with her sister's suicide when she finds a list her..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
The Hundred-Year Barn
 
4.5
"THE HUNDRED-YEAR BARN is an elegant story about not only farming but also family, life, and teamwork. It took about..."
The Halloweeners (Monsterstreet #2)
 
5.0
"When Fisher’s parents get a divorce, he finds himself with his mom back in her hometown. Even though he wants..."
The Boy Who Cried Werewolf (Monsterstreet #1)
 
5.0
"Max’s dad died when he was young so he doesn’t remember much about him. He also never sees his dad’s..."
Let's Call It a Doomsday
 
4.0
"LET'S CALL IT A DOOMSDAY follows Ellis, a teenager who is Mormon and has an anxiety disorder. Eliis is in..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Stay
 
5.0
"Piper's family has moved around a lot recently since her father is out of work. They've stayed with relatives, but..."
Shadow School #1: Archimancy
 
5.0
"Cordelia Liu moves from California to the Northeast because her father has lost his job. She enrolls in the local..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
5.0
"Tiffany D. Jackson has knocked it out of the park yet again with LET ME HEAR A RHYME. When Steph..."
The Tiger at Midnight (The Tiger at Midnight, #1)
 
4.3
"THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT is a lush YA fantasy that follows two primary characters in alternating points-of-view. Esha is known..."
The Strangers (The Greystone Secrets #1)
 
4.0
"The Greystone kids have a good life, even if their father died when they were all very young. Chess remembers..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"TBH, TOO MUCH DRAMA is a short book that primarily takes place over texts, but also has some emails, essays,..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
Chicken Talk
 
4.0
"Farmer Otis, his wife Abby, and his children Willie and Belle love their chickens. They also have a rooster named..."
Gogi's Gambit (The Lost Rainforest #2)
 
5.0
"The first of the series follows the panther Mez. This one follows Gogi the monkey. Born under a special moon,..."
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
 
4.3
"99 lies pick up exactly where the last book left off, post-kidnapping—at least for most of them. Genesis and Holden..."