Review Detail

engaging middle grade fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series that features so-called creatures of the dark, e.g. yeti, grim reaper, vampires, as they go on quests and adventures together. Amelia Fang, a vampire, lives with her parents Countess Frivoleeta and Count Drake, who are planning this year's Barbaric Ball. Amelia is not at all excited to go.

At school, she meets a spoiled and rude prince, Tangine, who insists on calling her friend Florence, who is a rare breed of yeti, a beast at school. When she sees him again at dinner at her house where he and his father are guests, she is shocked to see that he gets whatever he wants- even when it is her pet, Squashy, a pumpkin. After he leaves with Squashy, Amelia employs the help of her friends to get him back.

In the process, she learns surprising truths about the prince's parents and also gives him another chance. The book also features illustrations on every spread (some full page and some half or smaller) that are really fantastically well drawn.

What I loved: The whole premise to this series is really cute, in the vein of Vampirina Ballerina, Hotel Transylvania, and others. Creatures of the dark are the main characters who fear the creatures of the light and glitter. However, these may be based on stereotypes which are not true, as Amelia begins to learn. Adding to that, this middle grade features lots of adventure/action, large font, and lots of delightful illustrations that make it ideal for new chapter book readers or reluctant middle grade readers. In terms of the plot, there's an interesting subtext about people (e.g. Tangine) who seem like bullies needing understanding and friendship, which is addressed a bit by the end.

What left me wanting more: Amelia's and Tangine's fathers are pretty much absentee parents, not really paying attention to their children or spouses or guests, and this was kind of sad but not really discussed. It would have been great to see this discussed more in the book, as absentee parents will sometimes feature in readers' lives. Also, her father describes his help with getting ready for the ball as putting his teacup in the sink (more than Amelia expected also), which is playing up some gendered stereotypes a bit much; however, maybe the absurdity of this will stick with young readers rather than the action/expectation itself.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute start to a new series which does a good job of introducing the characters. Recommend for reluctant or new chapter book readers who enjoy middle grade fantasy and plenty of delightful illustrations.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Ghost Wood Song
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Sawkill Girls meets Beautiful Creatures in this lush and eerie...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...

Latest Member Reviews

Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
"CUDDLE CLOSE, LITTLE KOALA is a sweet story of the special connection between mother and child. Little Koala is lost..."
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat 5-Minute Bedtime Stories' by Kimberly and James Dean is an adorable storybook that any lover of children's..."
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
"'Ty's Travels: All Aboard!' by Kelly Starling Lyons, pictures by Nina Mata, is an adorable story of Ty and his..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Ghost Wood Song
 
4.0
"Shady Grove inherited her father's talent to play a fiddler to call the dead. He used a special fiddle to..."
The Path We Take
 
4.5
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
A Dreadful Dream
 
4.0
"13 is a hard age. Josh experiences so much change in his early teens, he's barely making it. I like..."
Escaping to Freedom
 
5.0
"The story keeps you guessing what'll happen next. The main character is an average 16 year-old. Her world is thrown..."
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
"MY LOVE IS ALL AROUND is a sweet book about love between parent and child and the many ways in..."
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
"I'M NOT A MOUSE! is a cute picture book about nicknames. Olivia's mother always calls her mouse, and she doesn't..."
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
"MY PANDA SWEATER is a lovely book about the way that clothes can affect us. A young girl loves her..."
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
"ONE DAY ON OUR BLUE PLANET... IN THE OUTBACK is a picture book that follows a red kangaroo joey through..."
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
"MRS BIBI'S ELEPHANT is a sweet story about the special place we have in our hearts for our pets. Mrs...."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
""Written" by dwarf Nord Diggums with contributions from experts in the field of magical creatures such as Professor Ivana Therey..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."