Review Detail

engaging middle grade fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series that features so-called creatures of the dark, e.g. yeti, grim reaper, vampires, as they go on quests and adventures together. Amelia Fang, a vampire, lives with her parents Countess Frivoleeta and Count Drake, who are planning this year's Barbaric Ball. Amelia is not at all excited to go.

At school, she meets a spoiled and rude prince, Tangine, who insists on calling her friend Florence, who is a rare breed of yeti, a beast at school. When she sees him again at dinner at her house where he and his father are guests, she is shocked to see that he gets whatever he wants- even when it is her pet, Squashy, a pumpkin. After he leaves with Squashy, Amelia employs the help of her friends to get him back.

In the process, she learns surprising truths about the prince's parents and also gives him another chance. The book also features illustrations on every spread (some full page and some half or smaller) that are really fantastically well drawn.

What I loved: The whole premise to this series is really cute, in the vein of Vampirina Ballerina, Hotel Transylvania, and others. Creatures of the dark are the main characters who fear the creatures of the light and glitter. However, these may be based on stereotypes which are not true, as Amelia begins to learn. Adding to that, this middle grade features lots of adventure/action, large font, and lots of delightful illustrations that make it ideal for new chapter book readers or reluctant middle grade readers. In terms of the plot, there's an interesting subtext about people (e.g. Tangine) who seem like bullies needing understanding and friendship, which is addressed a bit by the end.

What left me wanting more: Amelia's and Tangine's fathers are pretty much absentee parents, not really paying attention to their children or spouses or guests, and this was kind of sad but not really discussed. It would have been great to see this discussed more in the book, as absentee parents will sometimes feature in readers' lives. Also, her father describes his help with getting ready for the ball as putting his teacup in the sink (more than Amelia expected also), which is playing up some gendered stereotypes a bit much; however, maybe the absurdity of this will stick with young readers rather than the action/expectation itself.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute start to a new series which does a good job of introducing the characters. Recommend for reluctant or new chapter book readers who enjoy middle grade fantasy and plenty of delightful illustrations.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
My True Love Gave To Me
 
4.3
"I admit that I’m not a big anthology fan. I find the stories in them are hit and miss. ‘My..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
5.0
"all i can feel about this book is envy... this book is just written so well. it still has the..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.7
"i'm finally done! i read this with a very slow start which i think is becoming a routine for me...."
My True Love Gave To Me
 
4.3
"Christmas has to be one of my all-time favorite holidays. I also love short story anthologies. Put the..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"Lara Jen Covey has a secret. She writes letters to the boys she’s crushing on, seals them, and hides them..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
5.0
"I ended up finishing it in one night. I was immediately in love with this book. To all the boys..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
3.3
" Favorite Quotes: • “I don’t have to be so afraid of good-bye, because good-bye doesn’t have..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
4.3
"MY THOUGHTS I adored the first book! It was the perfect contemporary, but thee ending just wasn't an ending! I..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
4.0
"Adjusting to real dating after fake dating is a harder change than both Lara Jean and Peter expected. With old..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
5.0
"I love Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian, and so when I saw this I could not contain my joy. This..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.7
"I love revenge stories. There’s just something so liberating about exacting your revenge upon someone who has wronged you –..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.0
"Why I Loved It: At the risk of being cliche, revenge has never been so sweet. I read..."
The Summer I Turned Pretty
 
4.3
"This book is another one that sat on my shelf ever since July 2012 and I wish I read it..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
2.7
"I'm sad to say I'm a little disappointed after finihing urn for Burn. With all the hype surrounding the author..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.7
"I decided to switch things up a bit from my normal reading this month, and try Burn for Burn ..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
4.3
"Boys are just familiar with it. Girls know it. And that's why they do it better. Three girls, three stories,..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.0
"Who has time for Karma to work her magic? Definitely not the leading ladies in Burn For Burn. Told in..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
2.7
" Jenny Han has always been one of my favorite authors. I often find myself reaching for her Summer series..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
4.3
"Wow. This is a pretty intense read. I mean...when I got done with the book, I sort of stared at..."