Review Detail

Kids Fiction 153
gorgeously illustrated story about getting lost
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
LITTLE RABBIT LOST follows Little Rabbit as he celebrates his birthday with his family. Little Rabbit wakes up feeling grown up. When he opens his presents and his enormous red balloon, he learns his family has a surprise for him- they are taking him to Rabbit World! He is excited to go and leads the way, carrying his big, red balloon. His parents warn him not to wander too far ahead, but Little Rabbit believes he is a big rabbit now.

However, at Rabbit World, Little Rabbit learns that he is still too little to do many of the rides. He finds a bouncy castle and is excited when he can enjoy it. However, when he is done, he notices he can’t find his family. After searching, he is luckily reunited with his family, as his mother sees his big, red balloon. His birthday ends on a good note with a surprise birthday cake that his mother packed.

What I loved: The illustrations are classic and lovely. From the full page Rabbit World to Little Rabbit’s cute outfit and big balloon, the pictures are just gorgeous. Parents and young readers can enjoy looking at all the detail and many lovely components of each image from the rides to the other rabbits. The text is well written and captures the feeling of being big yet little that many children experience as they grow. Getting lost is not uncommon for young children, and this book provides the opportunity to discuss what children should do in the case that it happens, which can be a really valuable learning tool.

What left me wanting more: As a small thing, I notice mother rabbit is the one who must pack the meals and also find Little Rabbit. I love to see more variety in the parents who do domestic tasks, so it would have been nice to have both parents or Papa Rabbit pack the meal, but this is certainly a small thing.

Final verdict: With lovely illustrations and an easily understood storyline, LITTLE RABBIT LOST is an engaging story about feeling little and big at the same time and about getting lost and found. This story can be a valuable tool for teaching about safety as well as being just an enjoyable read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Wild Queen: The Days and Nights of Mary Queen of Scots
 
3.7
SamSam
"The Wild Queen is another Carolyn Meyer historical fiction. I have read a few of her other Young Royal books..."
Isabel: Jewel of Castilla, Spain, 1466 (The Royal Diaries)
 
5.0
"I think girls would read this book and all the others in the Royal Diaries.I think they enjoy history and..."
The Bad Queen: Rules and Instructions for Marie-Antoinette (Young Royals #6)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jazmyn Throughout history Marie Antoinette has been seen as a pompous and heartless ruler, a queen..."
The Bad Queen: Rules and Instructions for Marie-Antoinette (Young Royals #6)
 
4.0
"I love historical fiction. I also love 18th century France with the lush costumes and gorgeous courts. The..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Mary Anne Boleyns story is one that is often told with disgust or pity the..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by lulabell0513 Reading this story is like taking a step back in time into Henry VIII's era. This..."
Loving Will Shakespeare
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jocelyn Anne Hathaway is simply a yeomans daughter, and Will Shakespeare is a boy who..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica M. The author of the book wrote this book from Anne's point of view. I admit,..."
Mary, Bloody Mary (Young Royals #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mandy Joan I felt so sorry for Mary reading this book. I mean her dad disowned her...."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mandy Joan Elizabeth is a strong person. I felt bad for mary until she tormented people so...."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mandy Joan I have no sympathy for Anne. She's like a nowaday gold digger. Henry would have..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique Anne Boleyn, the second wife of Henry VIII, was beheaded on charges of adultery. But..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kittygirl At the young age of 13, Anne Boleyn declares her ambition to someday become Queen of..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique Before becoming queen of England, Elizabeth Tudor lived through many hardships. She was even imprisoned!..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by linda The story of Elizabeth before she became the Queen of England. Elizatheth is smart, determined, and..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Maria This book is amazing. When you start to read you can't put it down. ..."
Mary, Bloody Mary (Young Royals #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique If you've ever wondered why Mary was nicknamed "Bloody Mary" or what caused her to seem..."
Mary, Bloody Mary (Young Royals #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by RBA Mary was always considered as cruel and unruly, but this is not true. In Mary,..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Babydex Everybody loves to sit and wonder what really went on between those old kings and queens...."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Taylor Eliabeth I is one of England's most famous nobles and by far the most well known..."