Review Detail

A spy for General Washington
(Updated: June 12, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Ranger travels back in time via a magical first aid kit, and must stay until he figures out how to help a key figure in a historical event. This time, he is helping Isaac, a young African-American boy who was a fisherman and who gets caught up in the struggle against the British. Even though Isaac has to fight smallpox early in the book, he rallies enough to return to his unit, the Fourteenth Continental Regiment from Marblehead, Massachusetts. The cold, wet, and unpleasant conditions plaguing the military at this time are keenly felt by Isaac, but luckily, Ranger is there to stay by his side and help him out of the most dire scrapes. After being in the Hessians camp and talking to Colonel Rall, Isaac manages to get back to Washington and tell him the Hessians' plans. Washington plans an attack to occur before theirs. After a treacherous crossing of the frozen river, Isaac and Ranger are involved in the Battle of Trenton. Isaac is injured, but survives with Ranger's help. His job done, Ranger returns his humans in the present day, ready for his next adventure, Escape from the Twin Towers.
Good Points
Isaac is an interesting character with whom many young readers will identify. War is certainly uncomfortable and dangerous, but it is also interesting and exciting. The chance to travel with the army, meet General Washingon, and be involved with major battles in history will appeal to readers who want to more about history.

The notes about the Revolutionary War at the end of the book are extremely helpful, and the bibliography will entice children to find out even more about the subject covered. There are a few pictures in the notes, but the most interesting thing was reading about how Messner researched and decided how to use real events in a fictional way to make an engaging story.

Like Lauren Tarshis' I Survived Books, Messner has covered many major historical events in a way that young readers will find engaging and interesting. In addition to being fun and factual reads for elementary aged students, these books are also an excellent way to cover historical topics for older, developmentally delayed students. I often use them when 8th grade students with special needs require a fiction book on a topic that pertains to the social studies curriculum. Ranger in Time books are written on a lower Lexile level, and also aren't as gory and upsetting as some of the books for older readers.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."