Review Detail

Dinosaur Bones!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Library copy



Sassy and Waldo are super excited to go to the city museum (even though their boy, Stewart, is tired of going every year. But there be more than two lunches, possibly, so how can this go wrong? Ms. Twohey gives everyone a lot of rules to follow, and says that there will be an ice cream party if people are well behaved, so "Salty" is on his very best behavior, even if he occasionally doesn't understand things because "I am from Liver, Ohio!" The museum tour does get a bit boring, but not after the dogs decide to take off on their own, with a few of the students, and give a tour of their own that includes noshing on moon boots, lounging on tapestries, seeing the Squirreltown exhibit, and eating at the cafeteria. Eventually, their shenanigans are found out, but explained away, and everyone heads back to school, leaving the kerfuzzled guards to clean up the piles of fur.
Good Points
Why do you need to read these immediately and buy copies for any children in your life, especially if there are long car trips in their future? Here's why (pages 119-120):

"Hi!... This is the beef bowl station. Do you want a beef bowl for lunch?"
"I have never wanted anything more in my entire life," said Waldo, who was drooling slightly.

"What size do you want?" asked the lady.

"The largest possible size," said Waldo...

"Do you want cheese sauce on your beef bowl?"
Waldo had to lean against the sneeze guard to steady himself. It was too much. He was feeling faint.

"Yes, cheese," he said. "

Aside from this snort-through-your-nose writing style, there are Colin Jacks fun illustrations showing "Salty" navigating the museum in his trench coat. I love that absolute everyone is completely oblivious that Waldo and Sassy are dogs, especially since they are so obsessed with lunch and squirrels! I'm definitely looking forward to more adventures, although I hope that they include Stewart's delightgul, office supply obsessed parents!

I swear, Ms. Falatko has gotten inside my dog's head and replicates her every thought. So funny! Make sure you read Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go to School and Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Start a Club by Accident. This is a great series for readers who like Watson's Stick Dog books, Barnett's Mac B.: Spy Kid series, and any humorous notebook style novel.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons was...
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s easier―...
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
4.3 (1)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
The Hive
 
3.0
"THE HIVE by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden is a YA sci-fi novel set in the near future. In this..."
Be More Chill
 
3.3
"BE MORE CHILL is an interesting discourse on popularity/being "Cool" and the pros/cons of technology. Jeremy is part of the..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."