Review Detail

Kids Fiction 581
Amazing Middle Grade retelling of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
JACLYN HYDE is a fun middle grade retelling of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Jaclyn is a perfectionist and wants everyone else to recognize it. When she accidentally leaves the cage for her bunny open, he escapes. Jaclyn and her friends Paige and Fatima take chase, they follow him into Enfield Manor. Dr. Enfield was a scientist that everyone believed was crazy.

Even though she doesn't find her bunny Charles, Jaclyn still doesn't leave the Manor empty handed. Here, she finds a recipe for a Perfection Potion and Jaclyn wastes no time in preparing it. After she drinks it, she starts doing things against her control--bad things to others that make her look perfect.

When this loss of control happens, she notices a change in her hands... almost goblin-like. It isn't long before her friends are confronted by the dark side of Jaclyn, better known as Jackie. They need to help before they lose their friend forever.

I love the story of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, so I was really excited to read this one and wasn't disappointed. There's a lot of humor and the story moves at a fast pace. I love how Jaclyn becomes "Jackie" and that her appearance resembles a goblin. Annabeth Bondor-Stone and Connor White do an impeccable job at holding my interest until the end, even as an adult.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, science, and humor.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Up!: Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard
 
4.7
"Look Up!: Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard pulls out all the stops when it comes to exploratory reading. Each page..."