Review Detail

Unsettling Speculative Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
The Greystone kids have a good life, even if their father died when they were all very young. Chess remembers him, since he was four, but Emma and Finn have no memories. Their mother is very supportive; she's able to work from her home office in the basement and be there to provide after school snacks. When there is a report on the news that three children in Arizona have been kidnapped, their mother is oddly affected. When they realize that the children have oddly similar names, the very same birthdates, and even look like them a bit, even Finn worries a bit. It's even more alarming when their mother claims that she needs to go away for business for an undetermined number of days, and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales, who worked on the PTA with Ms. Greystone, and her daughter, Natalie. Ms. Morales often lets women in troubled home situations stay with her, so Natalie isn't too surprised, and she reluctantly goes with the children to their house to feed their cat, since Ms. Morales is highly allergic. While back home, the children find their mother's cell phone and a letter, and start to try to decipher clues she has left about her disappearance. When the group manages to go into her basement office and finds a tunnel that leads them into another house in a nearby neighborhood, they know that things are not right and they have to figure out what has happened to their mother. The answer is both shocking and unbelievable, and leaves them with more questions than solutions. It also means that they have to try to save their mother in the next book. (No title or publication date available.)
Good Points
Haddix has a knack for very innovative ideas for science fiction related fantasy. I am always caught by surprise by the direction her plots take. The Greystone children are solid characters with distinct personalities, although I thought Natalie had a bit more spark. The fact that Ms. Morales helped out women having domestic issues was quite interesting and added a layer of believability to the children staying with her with few questions asked.

If you have reads who love series, Haddix is a great choice. The Missing series has seven books, as does The Shadow Children series, which my daughter adored. Ever since Under Their Skin and Children of Exile, reading Haddix's books makes me uneasy. I keep suspecting really weird things to happen. Or, as I put it in one of my reviews, I don't quite believe the worlds that she constructs. They are just too odd. This, of course, is why my daughter liked the books. This is actually something that appeals to children about world building; it just doesn't appeal to me!

Haddix is a local writer, so many of my students have seen her speak, and there is always a demand for her books. I was really intrigues by her notes at the end of the book about Rheta Grimsely Johnson writing "about a sad, odd, true coincidence" that inspired this story, and now I want to know what that was!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Significance
 
5.0
"If only i could save a hot guy from getting hit by a truck and suddenly be his soul mate,..."
Significance
 
5.0
"I seriously love this book to death. I probably couldn’t tell you how many times I have read and re-read..."
The Fallen Star (Volume 1)
 
4.0
"The Fallen Star is a book that will make you want to carry on reading. Its about a girl called..."
Flat-Out Love
 
3.0
"Flat-Out Love opens up with Julie heading off to college and arriving at what she thinks is her new apartment...."
What I Didn't Say
 
2.7
"I really don't have any reasonable reason to have not enjoyed this book. But something about it just didn't click..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
"Love this book i will give the cover and the book 5 out of 5. Every chapter takes you on..."
ReVamped
 
4.0
"Had enough of vampire books?! Well, let me throw ReVamped at you and say even if you’re sick of vampire..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
" So as we all know the vampire phenomenon has taken the world by storm and there are plenty of..."
Significance
 
5.0
"Love!"
Significance
 
5.0
"Does fate really exist? And if it does, then does magic exist? These are the questions Maggie Masters must answer..."
Remembrance
 
4.0
"(Source: Purchased from Amazon.co.uk for only 77p!) 16-year-old Lizzie has a great boyfriend, and a great best friend, but when..."
Remembrance
 
2.0
"Remembrance has a very interesting background. It was inspired by an artist's music video and burst into this book, which..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"First, I want to thank the author, Ada Adams, and also Marian R., for an e-copy of the book… ..."
Good For You (Between The Lines #3)
 
5.0
JenJen
"Wow, just wow! Each book in this series is better than the one before! This is Dori and Reid's..."
Solid
 
3.0
"Solid was a mindlessly entertaining read, with a witty and sarcastic narrator who kept things on the lighter side with..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.3
"This book wasn't the fluffy chick lit you think it would be, but it isn't quite as deep as you..."
Significance
 
5.0
" WOW! This is an AMAZING story. I got so caught up in it, I kept hiding from my responsibilities..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.5
" Wow, I am on a roll with good contemporaries this month. This one is really an eye opener..."
What I Didn't Say
 
N/A
" You know those books that come along and at first they seem okay and maybe sort of hoakie and..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"ISBN: 9781470068981 Publisher: Self/Indie Pages: 300 A simple mission turned deadly. Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered..."