Review Detail

Kids Fiction 257
Historical Book about the Choctaw Nation
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Martha Tom lives in a town in the Choctaw Nation in 1804, right across the Bok Chitto River from a plantation. She ventures across the river one day and meets Lil Mo, whose family is enslaved by the owner, Mr. Kendall. The two become friends, and when Lil Mo's mother is to be sold away from the family, the residents of Martha's town help the family escape. Because the family now falls under the laws of the Choctaw Nation, they are safe... as long as slave catchers don't cross the river and take them. As much as Mr. Bledsoe would like to do this, he knows that this would cause a war, so he takes his anger out on Mr. Porter, one of the plantation managers, instead. Mr. Porter's son, Joseph, is good friends with Lil Mo, and Mr. Porter thinks the enslaved people should be treated much better than they are. Lil Mo's family settles in to life in the town, and are even given a house in which to live by Funi Man, who also teaches Lil Mo the Choctaw language and tells him stories in order to help him understand the culture. While Bledsoe is still determined to get the family back, they are safe for a while, but soon Lil Mo is approached by a witch owl. The witch gives him an owl feather fan that burns his skin, and tells him that he is not safe. Lil Mo is torn between believing the voice and trusting his new friends. Funi Man, and well as Shonti, who has powers over snakes, are able to help him break the spell. Bledsoe eventually gets his comeuppance, and the Choctaw very graciously offer Mr. Kendall land in exchange for the family, so that they can live unperturbed.
Good Points
It is difficult to find books on Native American topics that are sufficiently sensitive and historically accurate. I am not well versed enough in the intricacies of Native culture to offer an opinion on all of the various aspects of this book. Mr. Tingle is a member of the Choctaw Nation and has based the picture book on which this novel is based, Crossing Bok Chitto, on the stories handed down through his family. Debbie Reese, of Native American in Children's Literature, says about his books in general that "Tim knows what he is doing". I have not seen her review of Stone River Crossing, but hope that this book is as accurate as Mr. Tingle's other works.

The story of enslaved people being aided by the people of the Choctaw Nation is one that I have not heard, and is an important one to tell. The friendships between Joseph, Martha, and Lil Mo underscore the point that children must learn prejudices, and are willing to make friends with anyone to whom they can connect, regardless of ethnicity, before they learn this. The Choctaw are exceedingly helpful to Lil Mo's family, who are grateful and relieved to be in a safe environment. While the times in which these characters live are difficult, they show their best selves. While Bledsoe and Harold are unrepentantly evil, even Mr. Kendall and Mr. Porter are shown to have more sympathy for enslaved people than most others at this point in history.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was a Lion
 
4.5
"Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was A Lion was a fun, educational, and an interactive book that is perfect for..."
What If You Had Animal Ears?
 
5.0
"A book about ears? Yes. A book that teaches you about different kind of animal ears? Yes. A..."