Review Detail

works best as a companion to the movie
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, Emmet is telling the story of what is happening in Bricksburg (now Apocalypseburg). After he saved the world from Taco Tuesday (first movie plot), they thought everything would be awesome forever. However, they got invaded by DUPLOs which destroyed everything in sight, and thus, they are now known as Apocalypseburg. Emmet wants everything to be awesome and for Lucy to be happy, so he builds a dream house.

However, soon, they are confronted by a new invader who attacks and searches for leaders. However, they know quickly that Emmet is not a leader, and Lucy tries to defend him, but also admits he is not tough enough. After the aliens take away Emmet’s friends, the book ends with Emmet deciding to get tough.

What I loved: This book, like THE LEGO MOVIE (1 and 2), has tidbits for both children and adults, with jokes we can all appreciate. The characters also stay true to themselves, with some of the Batman and Emmet fun we all loved from the movie. The plot follows the movie with images selected from the big screen, making it great for children who saw and loved it! The image layout has a somewhat comic book and apocalyptic feel with overlapping boxes and darker colors that suit the plotline well. The stickers are also a nice touch, featuring the main characters, which can be used for artwork or fun outside of the book.

What left me wanting more: If you consider the book outside of the context of the movie, there are some minor concerns. While it is true to the characters involved and the movie, the relationship drawn between being a leader and toughness seems a little simplified- Emmet is already pretty tough by staying optimistic and thriving in hard times, and leaders can have many qualities. The book also features a lot of attacking, which is true to the movie but may be appropriate for older audiences (elementary vs. preschool). The ending is also open, and the story in the book not completely finished. This makes it less complete to stand on its own but does allow children to make up their own ending if they have not seen the movie. As a result, this may be more appropriate as a companion to the movie for people who have already seen and loved it.

Final verdict: This book is great for elementary/older kids’ books audiences who already fans of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, the charming characters, and more complex storylines. Parents can enjoy the jokes and fun alongside their children when reading this picture book. Great for fans of the movie, this book stays true to the plot as well as characters and their personalities.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...

Latest Member Reviews

Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
Coral
 
3.0
"CORAL is not a fairytale retelling of THE LITTLE MERMAID- while it may have been inspired by some of the..."