Review Detail

Kids Fiction 491
What Matters Most is Who Picks Us Up
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

I want to hug this book and never let go.

Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful yet skeptical, naive yet wise beyond her years. She is a like all of us, a complex character. While some may have first met Louisiana in Raymie Nightingale, do not worry if you have not read the book, it will detract from this story in the slightest.

Louisiana’s curse is one of “sundering” passed down through her family. The all of a sudden her grandmother wakes her up in the middle of the night and drags her to the car. Louisiana realizes Granny plans to leave Florida behind for good when the cross into Georgia it's there that Louisiana's life begins to falls apart

What I liked the most: Kate DiCamillo is one of the best storytellers of our day; she is a true wordsmith. Her stories capture the reality children and adults face. The world she creates includes hurt and pain but also love and beauty. I know I always have tissues waiting near by whenever I pick up one of her books.

Louisiana’s Way Home is told through Louisiana’s point of view, which brings so much realism to the story. You hear her life lessons and follow her on her journey. True reflections of the world we live in some moments are humorous, bittersweet, heartwarming, and hopeful. While reading, the reader will begin to question: What is family? What makes something right versus wrong? How can the choices we make impact our lives and the lives of others? Louisiana must find the answers to these questions, and go through hardships and challenges to learn about love and forgiveness.



Beautifully written and full of all the feels. Kate DiCamillo has to be one of my all time favorite authors not only in the classroom but outside of it as well. Her work is full of captivating prose with life lessons and messages that raise children up. Never does DiCamillo talk down to her reader.

This is a beautiful book, and I highly recommend it to readers young and old. I’m sure will find its way to children’s reading lists and classrooms libraries
Good Points
Captivating
Beautifully written
Couldn't put it down
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jamie Synopsis An official webmaster for Xerox provides factual and often funny responses to the multitude..."
Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie This book was filled with so many facts I just couldn't get enough of it. I..."
Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda Bill McLain has all of the answers to the strangest questions. Im sure youll enjoy finding..."