Review Detail

Kids Fiction 8323
Concussions and social media
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
At the end of summer football camp for the Walthorne Wildcats, Ted Youngblood collapses as he comes off the field and ends up comatose in the hospital. Told in dialogue, texts, interviews and chat boards by Ted's parents and sister, his doctors, his teammates and others from school, we slowly find out why Ted ended up being injured. We also hear from Ted from the underwater depths of his coma. Ted's parents are divorced, so are not always in agreement as to the treatment of their son. Camille, who is the coach's daughter and has an interest in Ted, starts a chat board, but not all of the postings are supportive. One commenter in particular, Clea, keeps bringing up the idea that Ethan, who hit Ted, did it on purpose. As we go back and forth and hear the reactions of the different characters to the events, we find out more about the culture of football in the school and the deep emotional attachment that the characters have to football, and watch as Ted slowly makes his way out of the depths of injury to re enter the world and reflects on what has happened.
Good Points
There has been a lot of discussion lately about the age of characters in middle grade books, and how having one in 8th grade or high school tends to make the book "young adult". I think this is incorrect. 6th, 7th, and 8th graders love to read about high school students, so the fact that Ted is in middle school but participating in a high school camp is brilliant. There aren't many sports books that discuss summer conditioning programs, so it was interesting to read about this one, even if most of the events occurred after the camp itself. The format does make this a quick read, and will make it popular with fans of Alexander's The Crossover or Myers' Monster. Personally, I adore Greenwald's regular narrative style, so would have preferred this to be in a standard format like The Real Us so that I could have gotten more background information.

While we don't get a lot of information about each character, we are able to observe a lot of their interactions. With very few words, we get a lot of insight into what the members of the football team are thinking. They love the game, they love the violence of it, and they want to be a part of a group with traditions. They manage to cultivate these things without the coach really understanding what is going on. That was a nice touch-- while it was a little disturbing that the coach didn't know what was going on, it was good to see that he hadn't condoned it and took steps to change the culture after it was brought to his attention.

Aside from investigating the highly relevant topic of concussions, this book also touched on the topics of internet citizenship and divorced parents, and scrutinized high school culture with sympathy and insight. Graced with one of the best covers I have ever seen on a football book, Game Changer is a timely look at how a beloved sport might not be serving its participants well. Buy two copies for schools where sports books are popular, because this will quickly wear out!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Sixteen Scandals
 
3.0
"SIXTEEN SCANDALS by Sophie Jordan is a YA novel set in regency London. The story follows Primrose on her sixteenth..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Jo & Laurie
 
4.0
"Jo March is less than pleased with her publisher, who has not only made her artificially sweeten her novel, but..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"This book was so good that I cried in the end. Yes, literally. Markus Zusak's writing is clear, bold, and..."
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue
 
4.3
"A CLOUD OF OUTRAGEOUS BLUE is a historical fiction read that takes the reader to 1348-1349. Edyth grew up with..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
Watermark (The Broken Bell, #1)
 
3.0
"WATERMARK is a dark historical (takes place in the 1990s) suspense. The book follows Jeannine, Angel's sister, and Alex, her..."
The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones
 
4.7
"THE INVINCIBLE SUMMER OF JUNIPER JONES is a heart-wrenching YA historical novel that takes place primarily in 1955. Ethan is..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.7
"THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS by Jordyn Taylor is a new young adult novel that is both a contemporary and..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.0
"JO & LAURIE takes place after the publication of the original LITTLE WOMEN, which is about half of the current..."
The Jewel Thief
 
5.0
"THE JEWEL THIEF by Jeannie Mobley is a YA Historical Fiction novel, set in Paris, France during the reign of..."
Spindle and Dagger
 
3.7
"Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a beautiful, yet brutal, literary novel set in Medieval Wales. It is..."
Spindle and Dagger
 
3.7
"Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a unique, dark tale set in Medieval Wales. The author did their..."
They Went Left
 
5.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale of eighteen-year-old Holocaust survivor Zofia Lederman who searches for her brother after the war. I've..."
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
"THE COURT OF MIRACLES is an enagaging and lush YA historical that imagines an alternate France where the revolution has..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."