Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1419
Terrific Historical Fiction--and Baseball!
(Updated: June 29, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
The year is 1957, and Katy Gordon is a fifth grade girl who just wants to play baseball. She's worked her way into being accepted on the field by the boys in her neighborhood thanks to her pitching arm and skill with the bat. With her short hair tucked into a baseball cap, blue jeans, and her favorite San Francisco Seals jersey on, Katy blends in with the other boys to such an extent that she's invited to try out for a local Little League team. Katy--who writes her name as Casey on the information form provided by the coach--shows up at tryouts, makes the team, and is slated to be the starting picture in an upcoming practice game when one of the other player's parents outs her as a girl to the league. Little League baseball has a clear "no girls allowed" rule, and it doesn't matter how good Katy is at the sport, being a girl means she can't play. Period.

Katy is determined to fight back, and after her initial letter to the national office of Little League Baseball gets a response that details why girls can't play on the same level as boys, Katy channels her anger and disappointment into a quest for information. She's determined to prove that girls CAN compete with boys, and her research shows her that girls and women have been playing baseball with and against men--and succeeding--for a very long time.

OUT OF LEFT FIELD by Ellen Klages is rich in historical detail as Katy and her class delve into all of the current events of the time including the US and Soviet Union Space Race, the Little Rock Nine, the Giants moving to San Francisco, and plenty more. Best of all is the deep dive into the history of women in baseball and Katy's efforts to educate herself and others on the topic.

Katy is a great character, and she's surrounded by other amazing women. Her mom is particularly wonderful, and I can only hope that Katy's older sisters (who get mentioned a bit, but are never front-and-center) get their own books at some point. Klages writes history really well: Katy's story is fiction, but the facts surrounding her are interesting, informative, and provide plenty of opportunities for dialogue with young readers on important topics that are relevant today.

I wish my eight-year-old self had been able to read this book. I was a baseball-loving girl who played the game with all of the neighborhood boys, and reading Katy's story and learning about the women who formed the foundation for girls in the sport would have been so inspiring to me at that time--heck, it's inspiring now! The baseball narrative would have been enough to pull me in, but I enjoyed the focus on 1957's current events, too, and Katy's appreciation for and use of the library cemented the deal: I'd love to see this book used in upper elementary classrooms everywhere. What an amazing wide-ranging learning opportunity it provides! And I'll keep my fingers crossed for a movie as well. "The Sandlot" meets "A League of Their Own"?! How perfect would that be?! *sigh*

I absolutely recommend this book, and I offer my thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Fascinating history
Women in sports
Great writing
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
June 29, 2018
Thanks!

Katy’s sisters, Dewey Kerrigan and Suze Gordon already have two books of their own: THE GREEN GLASS SEA, and WHITE SANDS, RED MENACE, both in paperback from Viking/Penguin.
June 30, 2018
In reply to an earlier comment

Oh, excellent! I'll look for both of them. Thanks so much for writing a wonderful book!
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."