Review Detail

Butt-tentacled aliens!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Dr. Rupert Marmalade, the hamster alien, has been defeated, and the Good Guys Club is celebrating. However, when they find themselves lost in deep space and once again at the will of evil, they are less than happy. Marmalade is now a slimy alien with dozens of tentacles... all of which end in tiny butts! Unless the guys can escape, they are all doomed to die. Legs figures out how to work an escape pod, and they're all set to go-- until an alien nabs Legs. Snake wants to go ahead and leave, abandoning their friend, but the others won't hear of it. At one point, Wolf and Snake have a heart-to-heart about their friendship, but snake leaves anyway. Or does he? Shark has a great plan to disguise himself as a butt-tentacled alien, and his costume is very convincing... until it isn't any more. Things like they are going to come to a grim end, when the day is saved by an unexpected source!
Good Points
Blabey's illustrations are hysterical, and support the text brilliantly. When Wolf says "OK, if you vote to stop looking for our friends, raise your hands," the next box is just snake, looking VERY unhappy. So much emotion is able to be conveyed by the expressions on the faces, and of course, butts are always funny, especially when they are on alien tentacles!

The Bad Guys have really grown throughout this series, and now are completely devoted to saving the world. Who knew that starting to save kittens from trees (however unwillingly they were saved!) would end with the guys saving the world from complete and utter devastation-- not once, but twice. They have an uncanny knack for figuring out alien space ships, machinery, and weapons that the cast of Star Wars might envy!

The humor and illustrations in the Bad Guys series appeals to readers who giggle at Eaton's Flying Beaver Brothers and Eliopoulos's Cosmic Commandos, but the book has enough serious themes that make is akin to Winnick's Hilo when it comes to adventure and saving the day. While there are plenty of space cats books, this is the only one I know that has a space spider, snake, shark, piranha and wolf!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found