Review Detail

Kids Fiction 968
When you wish upon a star... or anything else!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Ophelia Delphinium Fidgets is a young fairy in a very well-developed and complex fairy world. She is supposed to work as a Granter, but for a variety of reasons, not as many wishes are being granted lately. There are lots of protocols and procedures involving the assigning and granting of wishes, combined with a decrease in the general level of magic, attributing to this. When Ophelia finally gets an assignment, to provide a girl named Kasarah in Kettering, Ohio with a purple bike because hers was stolen. After careful preparations, Ophelia sets out, but runs into all manner of problems on her trip. To complicate matters, the coin on which Kasarah wished is very difficult to obtain, because a variety of people keep picking it up, and the rules clearly state that a wish cannot be granted without it. After running into even more problems, Ophelia meets a dog. She doesn't want to be licked or befriended, but the dog she names Sam thinks otherwise and ends up being very useful. After tracking the coin down to the home of Gabe and Anna, whose father is gone, Ophelia manages to get the coin, but not before the boy makes yet another wish on it. With the help of her friend Charlie, who leaves the fairy realm of Haven to look for her, Ophelia must decide what course of action is best... with or without the approval of her fairy supervisors!
Good Points
Sam makes this book for me. Anderson writes a dog voice that sounds almost exactly like my dog, Sylvie. (Yes, she "talks" to my daughters. In fact, she texts them frequently.) Like almost all Anderson titles, there is always one moment where I burst into tears; in this case it was this interchange between Ophelia and Sam: "Why are you following me?" "Because you are broken and lost and I licked you, so now we are friends." The detailed information about Haven, the wish granting process, fairy names, and other specifics (from uniforms to housing to procedures) are so complete that Ophelia and her world come to life brilliantly. The details about Sam and Gabe and Anna are very sweet, but I don't want to give too many of those away.

The world building of Haven and Ophelia's role within it is exquisitely done, but starting the book with Ophelia in the midst of her troubles in Kettering would have interested reluctant readers more quickly. Kasarah is the sort of character that middle grade readers love because she is rude and snarky, just like they like to imagine they could be!

I adore Anderson's work, and this is a good read alike for Gemeinhart's Good Dog in many ways, but also contains enough magical realism to delight fans of Whitesides' The Wishmakers, Kessler's Has Anyone Seen Jessica Jenkins and would be a good next step for readers who enjoyed Mlynowski's Whatever After books or Kinsella's Fairy Mom and Me.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death, his...
Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
The Whaler's Daughter
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...

Latest Member Reviews

The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
DA Dragon Authors
"The Inexplicable Logic of My Life is a brilliant story of youth at an end, adulthood on the horizon, the..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
"Benjamin Alire Sáenz’s newest novel is an endearing story about the different types of families and what it means to..."
¡Más Cosas Que Dice Mi Abuela!: Dichos y refranes sobre animales
 
5.0
"¡Más Cosas Que Dice Mi Abuela! is a charming story about a family who goes to the countryside to visit..."