Review Detail

Kids Fiction 2048
Great details about being a bodyguard.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
After attacks in Pittsburgh and Columbus, Ohio, the security team is on high alert. Every venue is potentially fatal; every fan a potential assassin. Charley has her hands full, since Ash doesn't fully understand the peril he is in. It doesn't help that there is an overly zealous fan, Pete, who has altered his appearance to look as much like Ash as possible and is following the tour. Is he the threat? As more and more near misses occur-- aggressive paparazzi, a hotel fire-- everyone seems to be a suspect. The Guardian's tech people are brought in, and Charley escapes a fatal beating when they alert her to the presence of the cell phone that has been making the threats-- it's right next to her, under a concert stage! Since the potential killer knows how close Charley is, the threats escalate. Even though she is doing her best, it's almost impossible for Charley to keep Ash completely safe. It doesn't help that she is afraid she is becoming emotionally involved with the rock star. After several more harrowing episodes, it emerges that there are many people out to get Ash. Can they all be stopped before Ash's career, and possibly his life, is ended?
Good Points
The brief overview at the beginning of the book isn't really necessary, because I can't see readers waiting more than a day or two before plunging head first into this second book! It is very helpful if it's been a while, however. In the UK, I believe Target and Traitor are published as one volume.

This book certainly tests all of Charley's many skills, and even the romance aspect is handled from her main job as a security expert. I love how focused she is on her work, and how conscientious she is about everything. Mr. Bradford trained as a bodyguard in order to write this series, and I would certainly hire him if I were in a position to need protection!

The many twists do get to be a little bit unbelievable. I knew what would happen to Charley because of her role in the first books in this series, but it was still sad. Realistic, but sad.

I appreciate that these two books can be read outside of the main series. Caveat: Don't just buy book one! The second is a direct continuation of the story, and if avid readers don't have it, there will be complaints!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found