Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1203
Midnight in the Piazza
(Updated: February 04, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Thirteen-year-old Beatrice Archer isn't too excited when her professor father is offered a job far away from Boston. When she finds out they're moving to Rome, she's upset that she'll leave her friends behind. Once there though she's swept up in what looks like an robbery of some priceless sculptures on a fountain. She witnesses the crime outside her window. What happens next has her searching for the truth, even when others, including her father, don't believe her.

What worked: This is a fun adventure, mystery set in Rome. Beatrice's reluctance to leave Boston and her friends felt very real to me as I know how hard it is for this age group to be separated from the only home they know. Little by little though, Beatrice's heart warms up to the city. Readers see the art, city, and people through her eyes. She meets Marco, someone who age who lives in the city. Together they search for hints that might resolve the mystery of the sculptures.

Parks does a great job showing the old Jewish Ghetto in Rome and the history behind one ancient family. There's mystery, ancient art, adventure, and an ancient curse. Great pacing and Italian history woven throughout. Parks does have direct translations of Italian footnoted on the bottom of the pages. This makes it easy for readers, who don't know Italian, to find the quick translations without losing their place.

Fun romp through Rome with an endearing heroine who searches for the truth behind missing sculptures and in the process learns to love the city too.
Good Points
1. Fun adventure/mystery in Rome
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Light of Day
 
4.7
"A companion novel to Van Diepen's ON THE EDGE, this contemporary romance and mystery novel is told from the point..."
On the Edge
 
3.0
"It all started when Maddie Diaz took a shortcut through the park, something that should have had her home safe..."
On the Edge
 
4.3
" A well-written urban romance with strong world-building and unique characters, ON THE EDGE is a refreshing addition to the..."
Caged Warrior
 
4.7
"CAGED WARRIOR takes the reader to places they had no idea they could even go between the pages of a..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
Social Suicide (Deadly Cool #2)
 
3.0
"I'm a sucker for mystery solving, sleuthing teenagers. No matter how unrealistic the circumstances are, I love to read about..."
Darius & Twig
 
4.0
"It is so easy for us to get stuck inside our personal little bubbles. I rarely ever escape outside of..."
Deadly Cool (Deadly Cool #1)
 
5.0
"For this review, I'm going to turn up a bit of my gushing girlishness for a while. Deadly Cool..."